Skip to content

25.

September 27, 2013

Today is my 25th birthday.

White Chocolate Espresso Cake

But 24 was good. 24 was really good to me. Jumping into 25 is a bit scary. I know, nothing changes, it’s only one day older type thing, but 24 was so good. I want to hold on for just a bit longer, if I may.

I can’t, can I? It seems to be already gone.

Last year, I told you I would focus on four things throughout my 24th year. My “resolutions” for my new year were heavy, ambitious and put in place to make me a stronger person. To make me live with intention. Simply stated, they were to live more God-centered, rather that self-centered; to read and continue to learn; to be kind; to live healthy.

And, in my 24th year, we helped launched a church; Josh and I became members and began truly strengthening out relationship with God. I read too much, which never gets old. I’ve started seeing New York through acts of kindness, every single day. So much so, I can’t keep up because in my mind, everyone around me seems kinder. And, somehow, I ran 13.1 miles and continue to work out and live a healthy lifestyle.

Beyond that, my sister/best friend got married. My nephews grew and taught me about life. (And looked uber cute doing it.) I became appreciative my home again (Ohio). New York has suffered and gained. I have been in 45 Good Moods (on Mondays!). We went to Africa! And I fell in love a hundred times over with my future husband when he proposed.

So 24, you were too good. Thank you for being too good. I can only hope 25 can surpass you.

Continuing with tradition, as it bode well, in year 25, I will:

  1. Live with intention. Every day. Be proactive about the plans that are set out for me. Make decisions that are honest and true. And pray often.
  2. Be Kind. Don’t overlook this characteristic; it means much more to me than I realize. Continue to build the relationships.
  3. Keep Learning. Anything and everything. French, photography, Photoshop, writing, reading, researching.
  4. Keep Sweating. More importantly, live healthy. In one way, I surpassed this goal last year running my half marathon but I did not gain from it the joy I thought I would. Living an overall healthy lifestyle is the new take on this goal. Eating, sleeping and staying active but still setting incremental goals to keep myself accountable.
  5. Be Confident. This new goal is so important to me and something I struggle with daily. Confidence in my faith, in myself, in my relationships, in my work, in my writing.

With that, happiness to all that was 24 and that will be at 25. Because with the next year comes even greater things (like a marriage!) and I can’t wait.

Happy Friday!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2013 11:26 am

    Oh Al….Happy Birthday!

  2. Sara Sklenka permalink
    September 27, 2013 1:30 pm

    LOVE your closing photo choice for this one. Also, husband sounds too weird!! And I just realized you will be a wife. Even weirder.

    Happy birthday my dear : )

  3. September 27, 2013 2:44 pm

    A beautiful post, as always, sweet friend! Happy Birthday to a woman who rocks it at any age.

  4. September 30, 2013 12:56 pm

    Happy belated. And lovely goals. Cheers to the great year ahead for you!

    • October 1, 2013 9:34 am

      Thanks so much!! Have to start on your book list that you lay out so nicely for me…

Trackbacks

  1. Good Mood Monday | the shellhammer
  2. Good Mood Monday | the shellhammer
  3. 26. | the shellhammer

Leave a comment