Skip to content

My Nephews Taught Me.

September 5, 2013

This past weekend, Josh and I went home to spend time with our families. It seemed it had been ages since seeing most of their faces and after a month of bashing wedding ideas around in my head, I needed to talk them out with my dearest. (I think I scared all of them.)

Ohio

And I needed to see my boys. I needed to squeeze them and kiss them and laugh with them and pretend nap with them. I needed to love them. And I realized something amazing. Children, more so than any person, recognize the little things and can teach us much more than I ever anticipated. Here’s what I learned…

Being a Child

They live in the moment continuously. They scream when they are excited to see you, a wild scream that can send your ears ringing for months, and at the same time send your heart to the moon. Even a cow can send their smiles to their ears. We should always be that excited about life.

DSC_0329

When they become impatient, which is often, you can read it on them. They don’t try to hide their truth. Waiting in line, waiting your turn, is the end of the world in their eyes. And yet, while being honest about it, they deal with it. Be honest.

DSC_0338

Being a Child

They are just beginning to recognize that patience is a virtue because it leads to amazing moments. (And always ride with your hands up.)

DSC_0350

DSC_0365

While it may seem like there is only one way to do everything (your way), keep others in mind. This is something they are learning. Be kind.

Being a Child

When you are tired and need a pick-me-up, the answer is always piggy-back rides, super slides and cotton candy. Have fun.

Being a Child

If they don’t want to do something, they don’t do it. They can climb all the way to the top of a slide and realize it scares them. The solution is simple for them, turn around. There is no moment to be too proud. (Of course, one day, he will go down the slide and face his fears.) Have humility.

Being a Child

Sharing is really hard. Painfully hard. Sharing your things, your feelings and your heart. But they learn through the tears and eventually, they’ll be ready. Share, share, share.

DSC_0447

Farming the land is the most beautiful and natural process. Everyone should do it. Finn likes tractors. (And yes, farming is important.)

Being a Child DSC_0456

And, most importantly, if you want anything in life, just flash those blue eyes, smile and love your aunt. You’ll get the best time outs.  DSC_0474

So blessed with this family of mine and all they teach me.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Sara S. permalink
    September 5, 2013 4:51 pm

    Cows make my smile go to my ears ALL the time and I can’t think of many things more beautiful or important than farming. great post 🙂

  2. September 5, 2013 7:29 pm

    The pictures are perfect just as our time together and if we would all learn – those little ones have so much to teach us and gentleness is the best way to teach them. I feel so blessed to be able to watch my children and their children become parents and Grandparents – the best is yet to come when those little ones call you Gg

  3. Karen johansen permalink
    September 5, 2013 8:18 pm

    🙂

Trackbacks

  1. 25. | the shellhammer

Leave a Reply

