Skip to content

Unbroken

November 11, 2014

Unbroken

Have you read Unbroken?

I read it a while ago now, but any time I spot it on my bookshelf, or someone brings up WWII, my mind immediately drifts to this story an Olympian, turned Army Air Corpsman, turned POW, turned vet with PTSD, turned to one of the wisest, kindest human beings known. The story of Louis Zamperini changed my perspective on a million moments in life.

Mostly forgiveness, the beauty of love and the toxicity of hate.

His story is beautiful, and if you have yet to read it, please go buy the book. Right now. Because next month, the movie, directly by Angelina Jolie, comes out. My sister and I are counting down the days.

And in the meantime, you should read this interview Louis had with The Atlantic over the past few years, before is death in July (he was 97). The man was wise and had an outlook not many can carry out. He is so admired. And I so look forward to this movie.

To all of those who have served, are serving or who will serve this country in the future, you are so appreciated, so loved and so supported.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

