Skip to content

Wedding Cake

September 26, 2013

Josh and I fought once about wedding cake. It started off small, as we walked by Baked by Melissa in Soho, with hundreds of tourists whisking by. Bake’s flavor of the month was “Wedding Cake” and, while I am more apt to their red velvet, we decided to give the vanilla a little try. He instantly loved it and I, still naive to a man’s visions of “a wedding” sputtered, “I don’t want a wedding cake at my wedding.”

Milk Bar multi flavored wedding cake

This was May 2012, before the ring, before the engagement. It spurred a fight that lasted from Soho all the way to our apartment door in the east village. 25 minutes…

“Miken’s not having cake…”

“What is she having, pie?”

“No, just a dessert table. I love that idea. Not cutting the cake, no traditions that really don’t mean anything to me; to us. In fact, I want my wedding to be the complete opposite of any tradition that I don’t understand.”

“I’m not having a table of pie at my wedding. I’m having cake.”

“Well, maybe I won’t marry you. Oh, also, I don’t want a diamond…”

And considering Josh and I actually fighting is a rarity in our relationship (he can be a bit reserved), we both had to take a little break from the argument. Or heated discussion, because we were in fact, on the street.

We sat in silence until a few weeks ago (about the cake, not everything in our life). After Miken and Tim’s wedding, he witnessed what a dessert table actually looks like. And a few months later, I compromised and starting falling in love with naked cakes. And just last week, Josh said he wanted pie. My mind was blown.

While we are not to the point of choosing said dessert, I know there will be no cake cutting, even if we have a cake. And, also, if we have a cake, it will be naked and scrumptious and surrounded by pie.

What about you — did you cut the cake? Did you do all the traditions? {Also, my cousin had donuts at their lovely brunch reception, which is a fabulous idea!}

{And psst… I settled for a diamond.}

Naked Wedding Cakes

{Top Photo via Momofuku Milk Bar; Collage via Pinterest}

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen johansen permalink
    September 26, 2013 7:42 pm

    Uncle Ed and I did ALL the traditions 🙂

  2. Karen johansen permalink
    September 26, 2013 7:43 pm

    LOVE the naked cake idea!

  3. Karen Willer permalink
    September 26, 2013 8:21 pm

    I fell in love with cake #1. Different flavors and sizes, a hodgepodge of delectable cakes, but guys love pie!

  4. Jean Campbell permalink
    September 26, 2013 8:46 pm

    So THAT’S what a naked cake looks like!
    Katie and I have been doing a lot of cake tasting and I can tell you what I’ve learned so far. She WILL have a cake…with lots of frosting…more than likely with some Peanut Butter filling and I know what it WON’T be. What she calls a “baby cake”. We really LOVE our cake! LOL

  5. October 9, 2013 4:25 pm

    We had cheese at our wedding!! It was wheels of cheese stacked up like a cake! Everybody loved it and thought it was such a unique idea!

Leave a Reply

