Skip to content

New Year Resolution.

September 27, 2012

Every new year, millions of people across the world opt to partake in New Years’ Resolutions. Promises to themselves to be better; in life, in health, in happiness. I understand the meaning behind this – it’s a new year so why not go for a new you? But it’s not your new year. Your new year is on your birthday.

Today happens to be just that. My birthday.

I’ve never made “real” new year’s resolutions, so, needless to say, I have never experienced the satisfaction when they were completed or the loss when they have failed. But this year for my birthday, I’ve decided to give it a shot. I pray that all of you will hold me accountable to each of the following five goals:

  1. Live a more God-centric life. I read my Bible occasionally and go to church when it’s convenient. I can come up with a millions of excuses on why not to go but none of them truly matter. God matters.
  2. One book a month. I love to read; anything and everything. Yes, I have my favorite genre that typically includes bestsellers but anything can and does spark my interest. So I will read (at least) one book a month to keep it going. And I will share each book with you. If you have any suggestions or favorites, please share! (Still debating if I recommend my current book – Revolutionary Road. It is so depressing!)
  3. One RAOK a day; for the next 365 days. I’ve seen blogs and articles and youtube videos of how people, on their birthday, do random acts of kindness all day for others. I want to do at least one a day all year. And tell you about it. This could be giving a quarter to the drummer at Astor Place, explaining the difference between an em-dash and an en-dash to a lawyer, or running a 10K for FEED. They won’t all be large and they won’t necessarily be about money but they will, hopefully, make a significant impact on the lives of others.
  4. Run two 5Ks and two 10Ks this year. (Color RUN!) Which will hopefully lead to a half marathon next year. And also means I must…
  5. Sweat Every Day. (Or at least 4 days a week.) Because it’s healthy. Because after every run, I feel like I have accomplished something. And while I dread doing it, working out lifts me in ways not many other things do. And then you watch this commercial and more energy is boosted into your system.

 

Who is up for helping?!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Whitney Breanne permalink
    September 27, 2012 2:53 pm

    Color run in cbus??? i wantto do that with you!

Trackbacks

  1. Good Mood Mondays « the shellhammer
  2. The Brooklyn Half Marathon: Honestly. | the shellhammer
  3. 25. | the shellhammer

Leave a Reply

