Skip to content

Summer Book List

June 21, 2013

Happy Friday, happy first day of summer and happy day! I am excited to finally be finishing the book I have been reading for almost two months (!) and looking forward to the next adventure.

Cloud Atlas, you were difficult, confusing and… enlightening. You were long, sometimes boring and… somehow kept me on the edge of my seat. You taught me that this life that I have is liquid, always changing and affecting every life that I touch in the present and in the future. But everything I am has been affected by everything in the past. Life is movement, and incredibly confusing movement at that. Our actions impact more people than our selfishness can be aware of at any given time.

Thank you David Mitchell, for writing such lines as, “Because I, only I, see her smile a fraction before it reaches her face” and “Faith, the least exclusive club on Earth, has the craftiest doorman.” And thank you Jayne for lending it over (and telling me how satisfying it would be).

Now, what’s next? Here are 5 books I want to read this summer.

Can you tell me any more suggestions? What are you reading? Erynn, over at Books Outside the Box, always has new suggestions to offer (in the craftiest of ways). I also have a long list at Good Reads if you want to find me there. Hopefully I will get to them sometime soon…

Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg. Because I’m a feminist.

Lean In: Women, Work, and the Will to Lead

How We Die by Sherwin Nuland. Because we should be reflecting now.

How We Die: Reflections of Life's Final Chapter

Love Anthony by Lisa Genova. Because I can never learn enough about autism.

Love Anthony

Life of Pi by Yann Martel. Because the book is always better.

Life of Pi

Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand. Because how have I not read this book yet?

Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption

Have a wonderful, summer weekend!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2013 12:06 pm

    We just read Kite Runner for book club. Other books I want to read include: Devil in the White City, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, Sarah’s Key, and Gone Girl. I also need to find a good chic-lit easy read for fun 🙂

    • June 21, 2013 12:11 pm

      I read Kite Runner, Devil in the White City, Sarah’s Key and Gone Girl… (I apparently read a lot). I will at The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society to the list! Thanks!! You should read The Lost Wife for a (sort of) light read. Although, it’s about WWII… maybe not so light.

      • June 21, 2013 12:29 pm

        I also just requested Unbroken as a book on tape (CD?) from the library as something to listen to for our drive to Ohio for the 4th.. thinking Dominic might enjoy it since it’s a war book.. although he did enjoy The Help when I made him listen to that! I’ll have to check out the Lost Wife.. is it like the Paris Wife? 🙂 Loved that one!

Trackbacks

  1. Good Mood Monday | the shellhammer
  2. Good Mood Monday | the shellhammer
  3. 25. | the shellhammer

Leave a comment