Skip to content

Fall Books

October 9, 2014
tags:

My sister flew to California this week, and as a parting text, she asked for book recommendations. And lately, in the experience of the vaguely familiar sense of “free-time”, I had a book to point her to.

And then I realized, in the past two months, I have read 9 books! What a wonderful realization! My subway times have not been wasted away listening to shitty music and people watching (although both probably have occurred). But I have somehow been making my way through books, long and short, bad and good.

Plus, I joined a book club. If that doesn’t force someone to sit down and read, nothing will. It’s like homework and even if I do not particularly like the book assigned, there is a affirmation that comes with finishing that book.

And conversations are centered around books (I think I spoke to someone for 20 minutes last weekend swapping lists, adding and listening to anecdotes). I love the feeling of being so immersed in a book you want to stay up all night reading, or that while you are working, it’s all you can think about.

Below are some books that have made me feel that way… and some books I can’t wait to read. Read any good ones lately? (You can see what I think of the below on Goodreads, my go-to site for book lists.)

The Goldfinch: currently reading

The GoldfinchUnbroken: read

Unbroken

All the Light We Cannot See: read

All The Light We Cannot See

This Is Where I Leave You: read

This is Where I Leave You

Gone Girl: read

Gone Girl

Let the Great World Spin: to-read

Let the Great World Spin

The Rosie Project: to-read

The Rosie Project

Love Does: to-read

Love Does

The Language of Flowers: to-read

The Language of Flowers

Have you read any of these? I’d love to hear what you thought!

xoxo

PS: Lena Dunham’s book shelf.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Erin Johnson permalink
    October 9, 2014 10:06 pm

    Have read 5 of the one’s you listed and enjoyed them all for their individual strengths. Two of the others are on my read next shelf and I will be adding the others. Great list!

Leave a Reply

