Skip to content

Practice Kindness.

November 19, 2013

Last year I embarked on a project: 365 days of kindness. At the end of nearly everyday, I would log something I saw, heard or did into a notebook or the notes section of my phone. I shared them with you for a while but as my notes got longer and longer, it was hard to keep up.

I started witnessing acts at all times of the day. A women struggling with a stroller in the subway would be aided by a young kid on her way to school and they would carry the bulky wheels up two flights of stairs. A man, obviously in a hurry, stops to help a blind gentleman cross a busy 5th Avenue. A chat with a doorman who just wants to tell his story. A text from a friend telling me that she was thinking about me…

I started hearing about all of these acts of bravery, of pure inspiration. Acts that moved me and begged me to do more. To cook meals for friends and strangers, to carry extra food with me for those homeless people on the streets, to volunteer all the time I can, to listen to what others need.

My heart began to revolve about this; my mind shifted to living out simple acts of kindness in my daily activities, to love every divine moment. By not getting annoyed with a smiling tourist looking at everything as he or she walks through Times Square. By smiling at the people I pass on the street who are singing, loudly, to themselves. By laughing more.

This philosophy has shone through me. These good works have been noticed. These simple, everyday acts that are delicate in nature have made an impact that has profoundly molded my heart. A habit has been formed; kindness has been formed. I feel useful. I feel grateful and joyous.

I’m not perfect; I’m perfectly broken but somehow this project and this positive, loving outlook has made lives a bit better. Surround yourself with the same type of people.

And now I will challenge to you to the same project: practice kindness for a year. Or, start with a month, a week or a day. Focus on one thing you could do right now that will make someone feel motivated, impacted, stronger, healthier, happier. And do it. Then do it again tomorrow. And the next day. And the next. Send me your thoughts and actions. I’ll highlight you and hold you accountable. Let’s do another 365 days with your acts.

See how it impacts you and the world.

“For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.” Ephesians 2:10

Line

{Image via The Fox is Black; and currently acts as my desktop wallpaper at work}

2 Comments leave one →
  1. skytash permalink
    November 19, 2013 4:55 pm

    I have a friend who asks us all not to give her a birthday gift, but to perform a Random Act Of Kindness during the month of her birthday. November is RAOK month, so I’ve been practicing recently and have now been challenged to do it for a year!

  2. barb shellhammer permalink
    November 21, 2013 8:59 pm

    Oh how I love you…and the ways you make me a better me!

Leave a comment