Skip to content

Can’t and Won’t

April 8, 2014

Lately, all I have wanted to do was read snippets and stories instead of long, enduring novels. I no longer seem to find the time to cuddle up in bed on a weeknight with a book full of deep characters and philosophy, as much as I dream of doing just that. So I’m reading short memoirs, non-fiction and short novels.

Can’t and Won’t by Lydia Davis is especially appealing right now. Short stories of everyday happenings explained with what only can be called astuteness and wit. With titles like “I’m Pretty Comfortable, But I Could Be A Little More Comfortable,” and “The Cows,” I cannot wait to pick this one up (it came out today!). And since quickly catching glimpses of my books on the subway is the only way to continue reading, her chapters only being one sentence does not hurt. (see: “Bloomington”)

Cant and Wont

 

(Plus, check out that awesome title:)

What books are you reading lately? I’m always looking to add more to the never-ending list.

theshellhammer

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

