Skip to content

Portobello Mushroom Burger

December 6, 2013

One year ago, if you would have asked if I wanted mushrooms on my pizza or in my salad or raw, the answer was no, thank you. In the back of my twisted mind I would be judging you and making a fungi joke as well. I love my vegetables: asparagus winning my top prize, but mushrooms made me squeamish.

And then, like so many other hated foods, I woke up one day and wanted mushrooms. Fresh, cooked, doused in olive oil, roasted with sea salt. It didn’t matter. The craving was real and I was excited about it. This week, I tried cooking a Portobello for the very first time by myself…

It was amazing. And fresh. And easy. And so, so incredibly good for you.

Portobello Mushroom Burger

Ingredients:

2 Portobello Mushroom caps, cleaned
2 parts Olive Oil
1 part Balsamic
2 tsp. Chopped Garlic
Salt
Pepper
Sliced Tomatoes, Lettuce and all other toppings you love
Whole Wheat or Multi-grain bread

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Clean your mushrooms and remove the stems.
  3. Mix your olive oil, balsamic, garlic, salt and pepper together in a small bowl. Marinate the mushrooms in the mixture for ten minutes on each side (or marinate in plastic bag, making sure the whole mushroom is covered, for 10 minutes total).
  4. While the mushroom is marinating, clean and thinly slice your tomatoes. Spread them on an ungreased baking sheet and drizzle with olive oil and salt. Place bread on baking sheet as well. Brush with a small amount of olive oil. Set aside.
  5. Over medium-high heat, warm a tablespoon of olive oil in a saucepan. Place your now marinated mushrooms on the pan, for 10 minutes on each side.
  6. After you flip your mushroom to the second side, place the tomatoes and bread in the oven for 7 minutes.
  7. Once finished, remove the roasted bread and tomatoes from the oven and prepare on plate. Drizzle balsamic on the bread, place your mushroom, tomatoes, lettuce and other fixings on top.
  8. Enjoy!

Portobello Mushroom Burger

Portobello Mushroom Burger

Portobello Mushroom Burger

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2013 12:29 pm

    This is my favorite veggie alternative not only for burgers, but whenever my family wants a chicken breast or something. Perfect and so yummy!!

  2. December 6, 2013 12:54 pm

    I want to eat that!

  3. December 6, 2013 2:56 pm

    So funny, I had the same experience. I used to hate mushrooms, then one day I suddenly liked them, and now I can’t get enough. I’m hoping that this happens one day with olives too. It’s embarrassing to not like them!

Trackbacks

  1. Good Mood Monday | the shellhammer

Leave a Reply

