Skip to content

Building a Registry

December 4, 2013

A friend, who also recently got engaged, voiced something she was struggling with in the planning process. Her and her fiance are getting married in March and one of the “to-do’s” that I thought was going to be easy, she was finding difficult.

Registering. 

Where to register: alternative spaces and traditional

After listening to her discuss all of the options, my mind started to feel overwhelmed as well. At first, I didn’t want to register. I wanted no gifts — we already have an apartment together, we already have everything we could possibly need. But would you go to a wedding without a gift? Hopefully not.

The alternatives that have crossed my mind reach to everything you can imagine, from the simple to the extravagant. The options seem to be endless when you do the research.

Where to register: alternative spaces and traditional

+So maybe we do a honeymoon registry? Where guests can buy fun adventures for the honeymoon (our friends have tried honeyfund and buy our honeymoon) which are both fantastic ideas…

Where to register: alternative spaces and traditional

+Maybe we would urge our guests to donate to a charity instead (I Do Foundation) or bring a gift for a local charity…

Where to register: alternative spaces and traditional

+Or we combine all the things we want into one registry (My Registry or Merci Registry) to make it easy on us…

Where to register: alternative spaces and traditional

+Or we have a cash donation site (Deposit a Gift)…

Where to register: alternative spaces and traditional

+Lastly, we could go traditional. Crate and Barrel, Bed Bath and Beyond, Pottery Barn, West Elm… all places we love.

In the end, after my head spun around and discussions floated through rooms, I began to think about this day and what it means to you, the guests, instead of me, the bride. When I go to a wedding, I want the bride and groom to know how thankful I am to have been invited, to be able to celebrate and to show them my love. Sometimes you only get a few minutes to hug them, say how beautiful she looks and you are on your way. So the card, the money or the gift solidifies your thoughts. Just in case they missed you…

With all the alternatives out there, we decided traditional registry is right for us, for now. (I am desperately in need of an apple corer…)

What did you do for your wedding? Anything funky? I’d love to hear!

Where to register: alternative spaces and traditional

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 10, 2013 12:17 pm

    We used myregistry.com… It allows for monetary gifts but also syncs with large box store registries like Pottery Barn, Crate & Barrel, Kohl’s, Macy’s.. whatever! They have a huge list. I registered at Crate & Barrel (because I love their stuff), Macy’s, and Kohl’s (so my family back in California had an IN STORE place to shop). We ended up getting quite a few checks/money too.

    We went with traditional registry as I was living in my husband’s bachelor pad with mis-matched dishes and crappy silverware! 😉 As far as companies go, Crate and Barrel was probably the best for me to work with. I received a quiche dish that was broken upon arrival from Crate & Barrel and they shipped me a replacement, NO QUESTIONS ASKED! I thought that was pretty awesome. It’s hard to make decisions and we did end up sending some stuff back, but for the most part, we now are “real adults” with nice dishes and silverware! Yay for us!

    I also registered for things like china and your very old fashioned and traditional registry items just because when else are you going to buy that stuff for yourself? Plus I enjoy hosting parties and have fond memories of getting out my mom’s wedding china for fancy occasions.

    Websites like The Knot, etc. helped me with figuring out what we do/don’t need and what typically goes on registries. They have some GREAT lists that include things you wouldn’t normally think of! 🙂 Good luck! It can be quite a daunting task, that’s for sure!

Leave a Reply

