Skip to content

Freedom (Ditch the Cell Phone)

September 10, 2013

I held out for a long time when it came to buying a smartphone. When I moved to New York City, I had a fabulous double flip phone (the oldest version) that I had carried with me for three years. I loved it. It took pretty good pictures, I could text quickly, I never felt odd if I would leave the house without it. In fact, I was an expert at going a whole weekend without looking at my phone — I tried to often.

But outside factors started to tug on me; living in New York with everyone and their dog have iPhones; Instagram was becoming popular; my Samsung lost the ability to converse…

I bought an iPhone.

For a while, it seemed perfectly natural. On the first day, I Instagrammed 5 pictures, texted everyone I knew and could see the full conversation (instead of just one text), downloaded all the popular apps and sat at the dinner table playing with my phone.

I know it was partly to do with excitement and partly to do with a new toy, but how ridiculous was it that I sat at the dining table with my phone. We were on vacation with a few friends in a beautiful part of New York. I should have been enjoying the peace, enjoying the surroundings and the laughter. I should have been listening to everything my dear friends said, knowing that this awesome summer would be over before we all knew it.

It took me a long time to realize, and longer to admit: I am addicted to my smart phone.

Freedom

Every morning, I wake up to the alarm from my phone, peek at Instagram (because so many people took pictures overnight), check out Facebook status’ from people I have not talked to in 7 years, check the Indians score, check gmail and then the weather… only then do I get in the shower. At work, the phone sits on my desk all day and at home it sits on the couch as I pin, on the counter as I cook, and on the nightstand as I sleep.

I was in amazement when I saw this video that recently went viral. I was quick to blame all those around me for the pressure. I slowly realized that I was this person too. I was the person trying to “capture” every moment instead of “live” every moment; the person who relied so heavily on the presence of my phone, feeling lost without it. I became the person I swore I wouldn’t become.

I went to dinner this past weekend with some dear friends and left my phone at home. On our walk over, I talked to Josh about the obsession and that it needed to stop. I felt something that I had not felt in a while that night. It was not worry or guilt or tragedy.

It was freedom.

 

{Via Greatist}

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

