Skip to content

Happy Flying.

August 14, 2013

theshellhammer: Best way to find flights

“One time, I had the worst flight ever.”

No, but seriously. THE WORST FLIGHT EVER.

On my way to Southeast Asia, to the other side of the world, my ticket was put on hold due to credit card fraud. I had 4 layovers and it was 5:00 am on a Sunday. They wouldn’t let me board my plane to Dallas until I bought a new ticket so I did, on the spot. I then left my international phone on my plane in Dallas and had to run across the airport to get it. I almost got stuck in SFO until I started crying to a manager, explaining that I bought a new ticket. And on that 12 hour flight across the Pacific, the kid behind me thought it would be fun to play slap jack on the back of my seat for 3 consecutive hours. I should also mention my tray table was broke so every time the gentleman in front of my moved, my knees would get slammed. I was sitting by the window with a sleeping man to my left; I was unable to move.

But, after all was said and done, we had such an amazing time on that vacation. I would have not missed the experience for the world. We got our money back for the original flight. And we fell in love with Southeast Asia.

Did you know that you can book flights based on your personal preferences? Let’s say you are looking for more leg room or just comfort, you can check out Seat Guru, which is part of Trip Advisor. They show you seats heavily based on customer satisfaction ratings. Similarly, Routehappy focuses on comfort over price. And Hipmunk allows you to search based on “agony factor,” which, let’s face it, we all want to avoid!

On the other hand, if you are looking for the shortest route possible, which is my primary purpose, you can check out Momondo. I so wish I would have known about this two years ago.

You can read so much more about this here.

Happy flying!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

