Skip to content

Texas Sheet Cake

July 23, 2013

theshellhammer: Texas Sheet Cake

When I was young, I loved chocolate cake. (Like, loved.) I also loved baking. Every time I was in the mood, which was often, I would whip up some brownies and disperse: to my family, to my tennis team, to my friends.

And for my birthday most years, I only wanted chocolate cake (or blueberry cheesecake, but that is a story for another day). So GG or mom would “whip” up some Texas Sheet Cake. When I was young, I thought this was the most difficult task in the world compared to brownies out of a box. And mine would never taste as good as either of theirs. Every person in our family can attest to the talent in the kitchen our ladies hold. I can only pray I am up to their standards one day.

Every time I take a bite of Texas Sheet Cake I am taken back in time. My mouth fools me into thinking I am at some sort of celebration around a very large wooden table, sitting on one of my cousins laps, devouring chocolate cake right after singing “Happy Birthday.” It is one of the best memories I have, one of the most vivid. So I have secretly been eating a piece of this cake every day for the last week. But I suppose that is no longer a secret…

theshellhammer: Texas Sheet Cake

Texas Sheet Cake
Ever so slightly adapted from Lulu the Baker

Ingredients (for the cake)

1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (I use Nestle, but any will do)
1 cup water
1 cup unsalted butter
2 cups flour
2 cups sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs
1/2 cup sour cream
1 teaspoon vanilla

Ingredients (for the frosting)

8 Tablespoons unsalted butter
1/4 cup milk
3 Tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
3 cups powdered sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions

+Preheat your oven to 350°F and grease a cookie sheet (the cookie sheet you choose must be at least 1-inch deep)

+Combine your cocoa powder and water in a saucepan. Bring this to a boil, then add your butter. Stir until mixed and melted. Remove from the heat.

+In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking soda and salt. Then add your cocoa mixture. Stir until very smooth. Add eggs, one at a time, stirring until each is mixed well. Add sour cream and vanilla and stir (or beat) until smooth.

+Spread your cake batter onto your cookie sheet and bake for 20-25 minutes. (Two ways to check if complete: a toothpick comes out smooth or, when touch gently, the cake springs back to position.)

+5-10 minutes before your cake is done baking, start your frosting.

+In a saucepan, combine butter, milk and cocoa powder. Bring to a boil over medium heat and stir occasionally. Remove from heat when the butter is melted and well combined.

+Beat in powdered sugar (slowly) and beat in vanilla.

+As soon as the cake comes out of the over, gently spread the frosting over the cake.

+Cool completely before serving to everyone you love.

theshellhammer: Texas Sheet Cake

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2013 9:08 pm

    Love you and your memories – also love Texas Sheet Cake and now you know the secret – it is such an easy cake to make and always turns out perfect – hope our Josh likes it too!!

Trackbacks

  1. New Life & Baby Showers | the shellhammer

Leave a Reply

