Skip to content

On Writing.

June 18, 2013

Dax Shepard wrote something once that stuck. He was writing his first blog post about 4 months ago and he said, “I am tremendously excited to do this. Breaking free from the shackles of twitter’s 140 characters. I plan to meander with great impunity. I will expound on things that deserve little or no attention. This will prove to be my most wasteful endeavor.”

I, too, remember being very excited to begin writing. In college, I wrote nearly every day in cursive in my hundreds of half-filled journals. I never wrote about anything specific, mostly about simple stresses of college, being apart from my family and where I was going to end up next. I never found it a “wasteful endeavor”. In fact, it was encouraged by one of my professors, Artie Isaac. I was most in tuned with my creativity and writing when I took his class. We made our way through The Artist’s Way, writing every morning and using our words to provoke more thoughts and more words; honing our ability to create.

It was, actually, beautiful.

But then I lost touch. I tried to write a lot, and I suppose I did compared to most. I loved writing. At one tiny moment in high school I thought I would be an English teacher. How could I lose touch?

But the excitement came back, slowly rising up to the point where I had to create and share what was on my mind. This weekend, someone told me my blog was “…a fantastic celebration of all my favorite things in life : Art + Music + New York City!” For a while, I wasn’t sure what this space was but that, Mayann, was exactly what I needed. (She’ll add the fashion, if you so choose.) And I am not great, but I continue to learn. Continue to draft, re-draft, edit and proof.

It’s not easy to write every day but somehow it is always on my mind. Every conversation I have, every pin I pin, every link that’s shared, every bite I take, I wind up asking myself how I will write about it.

Odd, yet true, how I now “…expound on things that deserve little or no attention.”

But I will continue to meander. Thanks for reading.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Brianna permalink
    June 18, 2013 11:45 am

    Simply beautiful. and please do!

  2. June 18, 2013 3:40 pm

    This little blog keeps me so in touch with you and makes New York seem right next door instead of miles and miles away – love Gg

Leave a Reply

