Skip to content

Pianos, In The Street

June 14, 2013

Sing For Hope

I visited Denver a few years ago during an internship and while I was running around the city for a week (literally, from one end to the other), I always felt like I needed to stop and pause on the 16th Street Mall to listen to the kids (and professionals) playing the pianos that were openly there for such a purpose. The pianos were painted masterfully and made the Mall fell like a cozy living room in the middle of a thriving downtown. I loved it.

For the past two weeks, Sing For Hope did a similar art in New York City. They set up beautifully painted pianos in various spots to create music. My mom and I passed a piano in Greenwich last weekend, and, luckily for me, last night I caught another one before the downpour. While no one was playing, the simple nature of music on the streets makes you stop and appreciate the art.

This Sunday, all 88 pianos from around the city will be brought to the Lincoln Center Plaza for a “free all-day celebration of the arts.” How fun does that sound?

Happy Friday!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2013 11:10 am

    Would love to be there! x

  2. June 16, 2013 6:53 am

    It’s Sunday 16 June which means only one thing – IT’S BLOG PARTY DAY!! So I’m here, slightly swaying now with all the cocktails I’ve consumed, but more than ready to have a wonderful browse through your lovely blog!! xxxxxxx

  3. June 16, 2013 6:57 pm

    So fun! I wish I was there. I miss NYC. Looking forward to seeing it through your lens. xo

    • June 16, 2013 9:25 pm

      I wish I would have gone to the Celebration today but I did not make it up there. Maybe they will do it again!

  4. June 17, 2013 2:00 am

    This is a fantastic celebration of all my favorite things in life : Art + Music + New York City ! Many thanks for the follow ! Fashionable greetings from Marseille, France !

    • June 17, 2013 10:48 am

      Well, Fashion + Marseille makes for something fabulous! Thanks for visiting and I promise to hang in France with you more!

Leave a Reply

