Skip to content

St. Marks Place

May 23, 2013

DSC_0028

I hear the best way to decrease soreness after a hard work out (or a 13.1 mile run) is to walk. Just keep walking, stretching and hydrating. So Monday evening, when I was feeling better, but still sore, I found myself urging to release some of the pain. I grabbed my camera knowing that I feel complete with that Nikon pressed between my fingers and set out to St. Marks Place to explore.

St. Marks Place spans only three short blocks in the heart of the East Village. Living in this area is as loud as the people you see walking down the street. It is vibrant, magical and captures a side of New York City that residents sometimes forget to appreciate. While there may be men wearing pig masks and women with tie-dye hair, this is also the place where Jimi Hendrix loved to jam and Andy Warhol lived. It attracts people of all backgrounds, making it the epicenter for what New York City stands for.

Here’s what I captured, if you’d like to take a look.

I started at one end and saw…

DSC_0078

Beautiful Entryways.

DSC_0124

DSC_0048

DSC_0100

DSC_0115

DSC_0123

Interesting Graffiti, Art and Signs.

DSC_0069

DSC_0096

DSC_0133

DSC_0033

Quiet Cafes.

DSC_0064

DSC_0093

Loud Bars.

DSC_0052

DSC_0060

DSC_0083

DSC_0119

Silent Speakeasies.

DSC_0073

DSC_0085

Tattoos and Piercings.

DSC_0142

Funky Windows.

DSC_0041

DSC_0103

Famous Restaurants.

DSC_0137

And very interesting people. It’s Britney, Bitch!

DSC_0153

DSC_0157

St. Marks is such an interesting little street. If you are visiting the city, I highly suggest taking a little time to walk it and people watch. I guarantee you will not get bored. Tempted?

Happy Thursday!

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

