Skip to content

Things Money Can’t Buy.

May 14, 2013

Global Rich List

I live in Manhattan, a very expensive place to call home. It is a constant struggle for me when I meditate on major stressors in life and money always seems to wiggle its way up to the top of the list. I find ways around it: I pack my lunch (most days), I cook dinner, I rarely shop even when I see all of these beautiful ladies wearing lovely outfits all day every day (and who can resist hats!?). But I still find it stressful – student loans, Verizon bills, walking outside in Manhattan on any given day, root canals – the random list just continues.

I, by no means, think this is exclusive to Manhattan but it seems to intensify here. Maybe it’s all part of growing up. Maybe I am just trying to keep up with the Jones’. Maybe I have expensive taste. Maybe all-of-the-above.

Then one day a friend send me the link to the Global Rich List. Now every time I start to hyperventilate that I will be paying $122,335,434,587 back on student loans with 7.9% interest rates for the next 30 years (the cost is an exaggeration, the interest rate, however, is not), I think about this list and how lucky we are to be living where we live with limitless possibilities before us.

Thanks, God.

Where do you stand on that list? I’m roughly the 1.3 millionth richest person in the world — putting me in the top .02% — go me! And go you!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2013 6:58 am

    ha, yeah, it’s hard to realize you’re not poor when it seems like everyone else around you has something. But then I like my smartphone, so life can’t be that bad.

  2. August 5, 2013 11:40 am

    I feel bad for complaining so much.

Leave a Reply

