Skip to content

Flavor | Black Bottom Brownie Cupcakes by Bri

May 1, 2013

Boy, do I have a treat for you today! One of my nearest and dearest, Bri, has agreed to share with you her recipe for Black Bottom Brownie Cupcakes. These were such a hit at Josh’s Surprise Party that I could not wait to ask her how she made them!

Black Bottom Brownie Cupcakes | The Shellhammer

Hello everyone!  I’m really honored Alex asked me to write this post after sharing one of my childhood recipes at Josh’s Surprise Party this past weekend.  It’s a fun experience going from being a regular blog reader and fan to being trusted with sharing something special with The Shellhammer’s nearest and dearest followers.

As Alex mentioned, I met her in college and instantly knew we would be great friends.  Her passion for everything she does paired with her wonderful personality, kind nature, awesome sense of humor, endless amounts of creativity and sound advice are a combination that’s hard to find and I’m blessed to be able to call her one of my closest friends!

Before I share the recipe, lets rewind to last week.  The night before Josh’s Surprise Party, I called Alex to ask how the planning was going and to see if there was anything I could bring to the celebration.  I believe the conversation went something like:

ME: “Hi Big! What can I bake for tomorrow?”

ALEX:  “Oh don’t worry, I have it all covered.  I just want you to come and enjoy yourself.”

ME: “Sounds great. But no really, what can I bake?”

ALEX: “Okay, okay.  What can you make that requires little effort and includes ingredients you already have in your refrigerator?”

ME: “How about Black Bottom Brownie Cupcakes?”

ALEX: “What?”

ME: “Black Bottom Brownie Cupcakes! It’s like a mini cream cheese brownie.  They’re delicious, easy to make and I happen to already have cream cheese in my refrigerator”

ALEX: “Perfect!  See you tomorrow!”

Black Bottom Brownie Cupcakes | The Shellhammer

Black Bottom Brownie Cupcakes | The Shellhammer

Now I must admit, I’m not really sure why this recipe rose to the top of my head during this conversation.   The truth is, (shhh…) I haven’t made Black Bottom Brownie Cupcakes in many, many years but for some reason I had a feeling this was the perfect time to dust off the old recipe and buy a miniature muffin pan.

The original recipe came from my mother’s friend, Marion, who specializes in Italian cuisine but is also an excellent baker.  If you love cream cheese brownies as much as I do, you’ll instantly fall in love with these “Brownie Bombs,” as they were so kindly renamed at the party.  I didn’t have the original recipe handy while I was baking but I did find a very similar one online from Taste of Home.

I hope you give these a try for your next event and thanks again to Alex for letting me share this deliciousness! Enjoy!

Black Bottom Brownie Cupcakes | The Shellhammer

Black Bottom Brownie Cupcakes
Ingredients:

Filling
1 package (8 ounces) Cream Cheese, softened
1/3 cup sugar
1 egg
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 cup miniature semisweet chocolate chips

Cupcakes
1 cup sugar
1 cup water
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 egg
1 tablespoon white vinegar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 ½ cups all-purpose flour
1/4 cup baking cocoa
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions:

  1. In a small bowl, beat the cream cheese, sugar, egg and salt until smooth.  Stir in chips; set aside.
  2. For cupcakes, in a large bowl, beat the sugar, water, oil, egg, vinegar and vanilla until well blended.  Combine the flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt; gradually beat into egg mixture until blended.
  3. Fill paper-lined (or greased) muffin cups half full with chocolate batter.  Drop a heaping teaspoonful of the cream cheese mixture in center of batter of each cupcake.
  4. Bake at 350 for 25 minutes.  Cool in pans for 10 minutes before removing to racks to cool completely.  Refrigerate leftovers (if there are any left).

Notes:

  1. The recipe states it yields 20-24 cupcakes but I ended up with around 48 cupcakes (even with my heavy, pouring hand).  I also chose to double the recipe so I actually had 96 when all was said and done (good thing I was taking them to a party!).
  2. One variation I tried when making my second batch was filling the muffin cups half full with chocolate batter, then the heaping teaspoonful of the cream cheese mixture, followed by another spoonful of chocolate batter for a hidden surprise in the center.  (The cooking time will remain the same).

Black Bottom Brownie Cupcakes | The Shellhammer

Thanks so much for sharing Bri! So what do you think? Don’t you just want to go home and whip some up now? I may have ate a few this morning for breakfast…

Black Bottom Brownie Cupcakes | The Shellhammer

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

