Skip to content

Flavor | Molasses Cookies

April 9, 2013

Spicy Molasses Cookies

I told you, very open and honestly, that I am a cookie monster. I am not in denial about this fact at all. I fully embrace the calories and the sugar. I do not know how to say “no” to anything that is round, gooey and rolled in sugar. That capacity was not ingrained in me. Nor will it be ingrained in any future me. And I pray, so desperately, that I will continue to run so I can eat cookies.

While my favorite cookies are basic Nestle Tollhouse chocolate chip, and who can deny these scrumptious Nutella Stuffed cookies, I have a soft spot for the spice of a soft molasses cookie every once in a while. It brings back memories of my mom in the kitchen patiently waiting for the molasses to fall out of the glass jar, me watching so intently because when it came to these cookies, I was the complete opposite of patient. (Or my dad shouting, “…slow as Molasses!” at anything that may be that slow, as a joke, of course.) Anyway, these are the type of cookies she would make when we just needed something sweet; all the ingredients are in your cupboard waiting to be mixed together. And they always come out perfect and with ease.

Most people believe these to be a “holiday”cookie. In my book, every day is a holiday so make them all year round.

Spicy Molasses Cookies

Molasses Cookies
Ever So Slightly Adapted from The Pioneer Women

1 cup of Sugar
3/4 cup of Crisco
1/4 cup of Molasses
1 Egg
1 tablespoon of Milk
2 cups of Flour
2 1/2 teaspoons of Baking Soda
1/4 teaspoon of Salt
1 teaspoon of Cinnamon
1 teaspoon of Ground Ginger
1/2 teaspoon of Allspice
1/2 teaspoon of Ground Cloves

Directions
1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

2. Mix the sugar, Crisco, Molasses, egg and milk with an electric mixer until smooth. Mix all the dry ingredients together in a separate bowl. *Note, if you are daring, you can add the dry ingredients to the top of the Crisco mix and combine together before fully mixing in.

4. Gently combine the flour mixture with the wet ingredients.

5. Prepare a small bowl with sugar just lining the bottom. Roll the cookie batter into small balls, about the size of a walnut. Roll each ball through the sugar and place on greased cookie sheet.

6. Bake for 9-11 minutes. *I am a lover of crispy on the outside, soft on the inside cookies. 10 minutes was perfect for this. But make sure they are cracking before you pull them out.

Spicy Molasses Cookies

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathryn permalink
    January 4, 2014 4:05 pm

    I made these this afternoon. They’re so good! 10 minutes was perfect for our oven too!

Leave a Reply

