Skip to content

Lieb.

March 26, 2013

Have I introduced you to my lovely friend Christy yet? She has one of the most beautiful spirits I have ever felt and every time I am around her, I contagiously am a better person. She challenges me in a way only she can; she is endearing, thoughtful, and incredible in every aspect of her self. I have no doubt that one day she will be famous. And considering her space of the web just expanded dramatically with this post on what she would do over on her wedding day, I would say she is well on her way.

It turns out, she likes my writing too. So she challenged me with 11 tough questions to allow me to open up with you about who I am…which directly correlates with yesterday’s post. The Liebster Award was created to help promote growing blogs and expand relationships with fellow bloggers. (I just love expanding relationships.) The rules are simple: 1. Tell you all about the lady who nominated me (and show you her hilarious blog), 2. Write 11 facts about myself, 3. Answer 11 questions from the person who nominated me, 4. Nominate 11 new blogs (200 followers or less) and let them know, 5. Create 11 new questions for my nominated bloggers to answer.

How fun is this prompt!

Without further ado, here are 11 somewhat fun facts about me:

1. I somehow ended up with the coolest family on Earth.

2. Things I rarely-to-never eat: Spaghetti, Ice Cream, Sushi and… wait for it… Potatoes (French fries and chips included).

3. And yet my boyfriend grew up on a farm with potatoes. Imagine how meeting that family went. Just kidding, they were cool with it, I think? The fact that I love bacon really helped me out.

4. I drink milk with almost every meal. (My #1 craving during the hurricane.)

5. I really dislike running (and yet I’m training for a half marathon) but I love working out. I’d just rather play a sport with friends than run 5 miles.

6. I am a little too proud to be left-handed.

7. I am even more proud to be a born and bred Buckeye. I’m sure that gets a little annoying.

8. I get the, “You look like someone, a celebrity…but I can’t think of who…” in every social situation with alcohol. Kristin Davis, everybody, Kristin Davis. (A girl can dream…)

9. I have zero will power when it comes to chocolate chip cookies and Oreos. I will eat a whole sleeve and feel no shame.

10. I am terrified of the dentist and typically cannot sleep the night before and break out in cold sweats the day of.

11.  I will own my own event planning business one day. Sooner rather than later.

Celebrity Look Alike

And Christy decided to ask some pretty spunky questions so let me see if I can get the correct answers…

1. Describe your best birthday ever. I am going to say the 13th. My parents threw me a surprise party (granted, both of my sisters had surprise 13th birthday parties as well so I sort of knew it was coming, sharp girl that I was). Why it was special? We broke up into teams and went on a scavenger hunt around our entire town. I’ll never forget that we couldn’t find the name of the doctor on Corduroy road and now every time I pass the practice, I kick myself.

2. If you had all of the talent and ability in the world, what career would you pursue? I’d probably be a Country or Bluegrass singer. That goal was kicked to the curb when my 7-year-old-self read a fortune cookie that told me my career path would change. I cried in the back yard. It definitely ruined my week. (I still secretly dream of going on Idol.)

3. What is your spirit animal? Polar Bear. Majestic, graceful and beautiful in ways I can never be. Playful and loving like I hope I am.

4. What is something that irritates you and why? Arrogance. I find it very difficult to work with anyone who feels entitled or better than everyone else. I turn into a defensive person which is not like me.

5. Which is better: ants or aliens? Please provide an educated response. This kid just has the meaning of life all worked out. I am not this philosophical nor intelligent and yet I agree with his responses. Ants don’t know what is beyond their concrete block. They are naive in their world. Humans are the same sometimes. I imagine aliens are more open so I am going to go with aliens. (Please note that I could be completely wrong…:)

6. Where is your “second home”? There is a pretty amazing song by Of a Revolution (OAR) that explains this quite perfectly:

There’s a road outside Columbus, Ohio. | Feels like I drove along for years. | This Midwest way of ease it surrounds us. | I can’t deny the rhythm here. | And as I pull away from Riverside beside me. |That High Street never looked so good. | I miss my lady even though she often writes me. | She tells me tales of my neighborhood. | Surprise, surprise, I traveled here. | Four hundred miles from where I’m known. | My friends are here. | A couple years I’ve spent, I found I have a second home.

Fall in love with the full song here.

Manhattan is now my third home…but High Street is a beautiful thing.

7. What is your favorite blog post you’ve ever written? I wrote a post about my mama on her birthday last year. I still think those words resonate heavily on my mind.

8. When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up? Well, after the fortune cookie incident stated above, with demised spirits, I moved on to wedding planning. I guess that never changed…

9. What are some products that you love? Anything Aveda. Not only is their mission so clear and lovely, their hair products make me feel pampered in every way. I love Shampure shampoo and conditioner, Smooth Infusions smoothing serum for when I straighten my hair and Brilliant Humectant for the perfect curl. My favorite scent is Rosemary Mint.

10. What is your least favorite sound? (I borrowed this one from James Lipton) I somehow saved this question for last — I think it’s the toughest one! I think I am going to have to go with… snoring. But not normal snoring — more like the I-am-so-sick-and-can’t-breath-so-I-am-going-to-die snoring. It terrifies me. (Psst…My favorite is the sound a giraffe makes one minute and 50 seconds into this video.)

11. Do you have a favorite quote or saying? If not, make one up. I’m not going to fault you. I actually have two that I try to live by intentionally. I think they are both important separately but even more dynamic when you try to add them together.

My Grandma Shellhammer used to whisper to my mom wonderful things about me. The biggest complement my mom in turn shared with me was gram thought I could “Make Things Happen.” I hope I live up to that in her eyes.

The second is a verse that has inspired me since I was young and I believe it stands for everything a human should be. “Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others.” {Philippians 2:3-4}

Now to add those together in a Manhattan work environment is a difficult task.

And my nominations you ask?

These are ever so important…

Stacia from Free To Be Stacia Lee

Amanda from For the Love of Photos

Erynn from Books Outside the Box

Justine (and Rondo) from Rondo Takes Brooklyn

Jenna from Jenna Lento

And here are my 11 questions for you.

1. Can women have it all?
2. Are you ticklish? Where?
3. What is your favorite outfit in your closet right now?
4. If there was one song that fully describes you, what would it be?
5. Name your perfect date. (Thanks Miss Congeniality.)
6. Why did you choose your career path?
7. What is something you are incredibly proud of that you created or did?
8. The tortoise or the hare? Why?
9. What is one thing you could not go a day without?
10. What is the one piece of advice you would give to fellow bloggers?
11. Does life fascinate you?

Thanks for reading this incredibly long post. What are your answers to some of the above? I am so interested…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2013 3:55 pm

    Love you dear Allie – This was a fun read and I will see what I can do with your questions! You have been making things happen since the day you came into this beautiful world!!

  2. Anna Geyfman permalink
    March 26, 2013 3:56 pm

    Ms. Shellhammer, I loved this post! =)

  3. March 26, 2013 6:10 pm

    I love everything about this. your so funny alex =) your answers are all so real, but funny!

  4. March 26, 2013 7:11 pm

    another great read : )

Leave a Reply

