Skip to content

Please Please Me

March 22, 2013

It’s a day for anniversaries as we continue to push forward into spring. Please Please Me, the first album written and recorded by The Beatles dropped on this day 50 years ago in the UK. In fact, it was rush dropped due to the heightened success of songs “Please Please Me” and “Love Me Do”.

My personal favorites on the album? “P.S. I Love You” and, as many people know, “Twist and Shout” as this is the only true dance move I have adopted and love. My family loves to rub this one in my face.

I often wonder if Paul, John, Ringo and George knew how their careers would evolve over the next 10 years, how infamous they would become and how inspiring their partnership would be. I also wonder if Paul and Ringo look back now and think “Whoa, we did all that?”

Here’s to their songs living on for another 50 years…at least. And I absolutely love this album cover — don’t they all look like babies?! (George was 20, Paul was 21, and Ringo and John were 23.)

(Psst… I had no idea Ringo lived in Monaco. Should have paid that man a visit while we were there.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2013 3:57 pm

    Oh, hey girl! Alex, you are a funny, talented, and inspirational writer, so I nominated you for the Liebster Award! Go to this post for the info:

    http://avoidingatrophy.com/2013/03/liebster-award.html

Leave a Reply

