Skip to content

Flavor | Simple Thin Mints

March 8, 2013

My absolute favorite cookie when I was growing up was the Thin Mint. I was only in Brownies for a short period of time but I begged my mom and dad to get at least 5 boxes of Thin Mints consistently. We would pop them in the freezer as soon as they arrived and I would usually finish off a sleeve within 24 hours.

I hated that they only came once a year and would try to savor them as much as possible but I, admitting, am a cookie monster.

Now I have moved to Oreos, devouring sleeves at a time; usually only once a month, if you know what I mean. So when I found this incredibly simple recipe for Thin Mints on Pinterest, I couldn’t help but run to the store to pick up some Mint Extract and run home to my kitchen to melt some chocolate. (I already had everything else!)

Imagine Oreos, split in half and dipped in mint chocolate. Frozen and then enjoyed. There’s not a better cookie. (Except maybe these…

Thin Mints

Thin Mints
Recipe Adapted from Top With Cinnamon

Ingredients
16 to 20 Oreo cookies
7 to 10 oz semisweet or bittersweet chocolate
1 tsp mint extract
1 teaspoon of milk
OR
16 to 20 Oreo Cookies
7 to 10 oz Mint Chocolate Chips
1 teaspoon of milk
Directions

1. Take out your Oreo’s and twist them in half. I prefer to keep the filling on because it is my favorite part (and I don’t get DoubleStuf) but you can also scrape it off.

2. Melt the chocolate over a double broiler (or a bowl over boiling water). You can also do this in the microwave as long as your stir vigorously every 30 seconds or so. Stir in mint extract (if using) and milk. The milk with act as a smoother to the chocolate.

3. Dip the halved Oreo’s into the chocolate, use a spoon or fork to cover the whole bite.

4. When you pull the Oreo out, let the excess chocolate drip off (you can tell I didn’t do that too well) and place directly to wax paper on a cookie sheet.

5. Pop in the freezer to set.

*Note: because I add milk, these will need to be put in the freezer to set and will melt more quickly than if you do not use milk. You can always leave the milk out and follow all directions accordingly.

Thin Mints

{I strongly encourage you to visit Izy at Top with Cinnamon for more brilliant recipes!}

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

