Skip to content

Paint Nite // Girls Night

February 26, 2013

Paint Nite NYC There are so many different ways to show your creative talents. Painting is not one of mine; I’ve gotten over it. I actually love to do it when I have the energy and time to get out all of the supplies and then put them away. But I haven’t picked up a brush since college.

When my friends suggested buying a Living Social deal to a “Paint Nite”, I had no idea what I was getting into. But let me tell you, I am so glad I did it.

We headed downtown to Woodrow’s bar where we walked into a back room set with 25 easels and paint brushes just waiting to be held. We pumped our paint and had a wonderful artist walk us through the sample work. The fun part is, you don’t have to follow the template she shows you, your canvas is white and wide open to possibilities.

PaintNite

I, of course, being a “follow all rules” kind of girl, followed her teachings. There were four of us gathered around our table talking and catching up while painting. Oh, did I mention we were allowed to drink as well? I suppose some of the paintings could have turned out awful but none of them did.

You can see all the other artists pictures here. (We had a talented group:)

We had too much fun and all want to do something similar again. I love reaching out of my comfort zone and cannot wait to hang my new piece of work.

What about you, have you reached out of your comfort zone yet this year?

Paint Nite NYC

PaintNite2

{Middle and Bottom Photo thanks to PaintNite Facebook via Alexandra Smith}

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

