Skip to content

All About Food

February 13, 2013

Today is all about food. I just can’t help it – I’ve been itching to cook, bake, and broil anything I can get my hands on. I think I entered the grocery store every night last week to buy something to make for that evening. Crostini’s and cookies have been my go-to choices this week and I can’t help scouring all my cooking blogs and cook books for new recipes to try immediately.

I thought this was a great chance to introduce you to my favorite cooking blogs. It tends to be what I gravitate towards when I journey through Pinterest late at night. I’ve been in love with many of these blogs for years but others are new to my life.

Without further ado…

Smitten Kitchen by Deb Perleman: This women has a gift. She has never had professional training and yet comes up with the most delicious recipes known to wo-men everywhere. The tastes that scream out of every bite makes you go weak at the knees. I received her long-awaited cookbook for Christmas and I read the whole thing on a plane ride back to Detroit. Some of my favorite recipes on the site include Martha’s Macaroni and Cheese and Crisp Rosemary Flatbread but the book contains 80 more that have not been posted. (Psst.. the Today Show did a special on Deb yesterday. Meet her, her son, her husband, and her teeny Manhattan kitchen here.)

America’s Test Kitchen: I just believe everyone should sneak a peek at this every once in a while. The team will perfect a recipe by creating the dish hundreds of times. I’ve been visiting for years for the best, uncomplicated dishes.

Ambitious Kitchen: A fresh face to my blogroll, Monique offers me a new range of food to try that cater more to my life style. She, like others, is a perfectionist in the kitchen and her food claims the same. (Do I have to tell you again about the Nutella-Stuffed Brown Butter + Sea Salt Chocolate Chip Cookies?) I am so excited to read every nook and cranny of her site.

Cookie + Kate: For the vegetarians, or people who love whole foods and vegetables, this blog is for you! Kate works mostly with farm-to-table foods or as close to the source that she can get. Her photography is beautiful and her cooking is lovely. Cookie, her pup, scoops up the crumbs as she chops away. Doesn’t that sound wonderful? The recipes I want to try from Kate are Broiled Grapefruit and Honey Yogurt Granola and Baked Frittata.

Seven Spoons: Anything from Canada is good (my new motto on life) and this little gem, Tara, is from Canada. She pulls some of the best recipes from the people around her and makes them her own. What started as a simple place to keep her favorites turned into a beautifully crafted blog. I’ve been wanting to make this cake for ages!

“The Best … You’ll Ever Have” Series by Joanna Goddard: I mean, everything Joanna does it gold so why wouldn’t her recipes be the best? She partners with some of the best food bloggers and writers around to bring us the absolute best recipes. Check out her Best series, and the rest of her blog here. (Motherhood Mondays will change your life and I’m not even a mother.) (Special thanks to Shoko who helps her out with the Best series — and also is pretty awesome herself!)

{Photo via Seven Spoons}

seven!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 17, 2013 2:57 pm

    aww, thank you so much, alex!! so happy you like the series – it’s so much fun to work on!

Leave a Reply

