Skip to content

Dance, dance.

February 5, 2013

In the grand scheme of life, I’m young. So young, in fact, that the thought of 40 has never truly touched my mind. 30 is still a far distant future. 25 is the only age that seems to be on the horizon… but it’s quickly approaching.

I’ll stop rubbing in my young age now…

Because before I know it, I will be 40. And I debate in my mind if that day I will be excited, nostalgic, or downright depressed. It’s too soon to make this type of decision but I hope that every birthday from here on out will be more of a celebration. After reading this beautiful article published in the Huffington Post this past week, I can’t help but think of the years I have already taken for granted.

It seems that Jen took nothing for granted. Her and her husband, Dave, founded Cycle for Survival in 2007 after she was diagnosed with sarcoma, a rare cancer, in 2004. She had many challenges over her six-year battle, filled with tears and emotions, ups and downs. The only thing that seemed natural to her was happiness. So when she made it to the monumental 4-0 birthday, she did a dance. A simple, happy, excited, classic, fun, loving, jovial dance to celebrate life.

Now, if only we can have her enthusiasm infused into our every day life, we probably would stop stressing about birthdays…

(Psst… I raised my goal. Join Me? Because Seth Meyers is!)

Leave a Reply

