Skip to content

Handmade Goes Big

January 30, 2013

In 2011, when Tim proposed to Miken, there were a few things I knew instantly. I was, most likely, going to be in the wedding, the wedding would not be traditional, and we were going to be able to make some Etsy purchases. All three became realities but one thing I was not expecting was the growth of my already large obsession with Etsy. Along with the Brooklyn-based company receiving all my love, they received praise from the rest of the country as well growing an amazing 70% in 2012 alone.

The online market places biggest seller? Jewelry, of course. (And they do have such beautiful jewelry.) Furniture, both vintage and handmade, was the fasting growing category, and perhaps where I should be looking to find my new table. I was able to purchase Miken’s lovely garter from Nancy Wisely and have become utterly adoring Gray Works Design’s cheese boards. I could navigate through Etsy for days on end, reading Real Weddings blog and stumbling upon beautiful prints. No wonder they have grown so much! Does everyone feel this way?

My absolute favorite shop is Nook n Cranny’s Place. The artwork is flawless and wouldn’t you just die if your little one wore the prints below? Christy and Amy make a perfect team and their models put a smile on my face. My favorite is the grasshopper on little Lucy!

Hand painted tank-top with hand made skirt

I get by with a little help from my friends... Hand painted hippopotamus and sandpiper jumper

The Flying Tiger... Boys Airplane t-shirt

What is it you hear at your feet... Do you hear the grasshopper...  Little ladies jumper with hand painted grasshopper

{Photos via Amy for Nook n Cranny}

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2013 8:22 pm

    Thanks for the shout out and the links! ❤

Leave a Reply

