Skip to content

Cycle for Survival, Join Me?

January 28, 2013

 Cycle for Survival

Doesn’t this sound like fun? It also sounds really intense and I think it will be! Don’t worry, it’s not like The Hunger Games. (Can you believe that was my first post ever!?)

Cycle for Survival is an annual, national, indoor team cycling event that has raised over $17 million in support of lifesaving research on rare cancers at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. This is your chance to make a tangible impact on current cancer patients and their loved-ones. If that is not reason enough to join this fight…I have more. (When don’t I?)

I’m about to really lay down some facts, so bear with me…

Rare cancer. Not sure what that is? 50% of all cancers are rare so think about it. Think of everyone you know who is or was suffering from cancer. Breast cancer, pediatric, brain, prostate, leukemia, ovarian. Now think about this. 100% of anything you donate will go directly to research for that person within six months of the event. For your aunt, uncle, son, daughter, friend. For that heart you love.

Why Do I Cycle?

Cycle for Survival is a way for me to fight back in honor of all the loved ones we have all lost.

I cycle with a team of 13,000 riders worldwide all visualizing the same goal: to end cancer. We are fighting for renewed hope, renewed energy, renewed life.

My ride will be dedicated to Madison “Maddy” Lambert, a girl I never officially met, but heard countless blessings about. She passed away on January 8, 2013 after a three-year battle with leukemia at the age of 9. I have never seen a town rally around a loved one like her hometown and am proud of her for touching so many lives in her short time she had with us.

While Maddy has ended her battle and rests in Heaven, we must continue to the fight here.

How Can You Help?

  • You can help me by making a gift to my Cycle for Survival ride! You will have an immediate impact on those fighting cancer.
  • You can join the ride by finding a space near you; riding by my side.
  • You can pray that progress will continue to be made and have faith that the end of cancer is coming soon.

Any of the above will help us in the fight. Please join me. This progress – and the hope it brings to patients and their families – is only possible because of thoughtful contributions from people like you!  I’m asking you to join the battle and make a gift to support my ride against cancer.  This link will bring you to my fundraising page, where you can make a tax-deductible online donation. 

THIS IS A FIGHT WE NEED TO WIN, because no one beats cancer until WE ALL BEAT CANCER. Together, we can truly make a difference.

(Can you believe I just solicited to you?! How rude! Give what you can and feel no obligations. After all, this isn’t silly talk. I’ll be back with more of that tomorrow.)

Seth Meyers at Cycle for Survival

Leave a Reply

