Skip to content

The “F” Word.

January 18, 2013

Flu-Shot-3

No, silly, not that “F” word…

The Flu.

Did you get it yet? Has it made it around to each and every person you know? Mom, dad? Sister, brother-in-law, nephew, other brother-in-law? Co-worker, cafeteria cook?

If it hasn’t, it will. And I hear you camp out on the bathroom floor for 48 hours while your husband is at the other end of the house doing the same thing. Or you lock yourself in your house with your kids for three days. Sounds miserable.

So after much careful consideration and nudges from peers and mothers, my mind forced my body to go get the disappearing flu shot. I say disappearing because out of all 600 pharmacy’s in this city, there were barely any shots left. Now, let me tell you how big of a deal this was. You know, for me to actually tell myself “Al, you have to wake up at 7:00 to go to Union Square to the 24 hour Pharmacy to have a kid stick a needle (A NEEDLE) in your arm that may or may not make you sick within a few days all the while you will feel your blood squirm with this foreign liquid.”

Talk about a mental bridge. I couldn’t sleep.

But that facts were overwhelming. Allie sending me articles of “State of Emergency” states, Kelsey, the pharmacist, saying it’s probably a good idea. Even the governor was whispering in my ear.

Too. Much. Pressure.

Flu Map

They obviously don’t know my background with shots. I’ve heard stories of my torture and I have obviously blocked them out of my mind. Torture as in nurses and doctors trying to hold me down as my screams of death circle out to my siblings ears in the waiting room. (Don’t you think one of them should have come and checked on me?! Geez.) I probably scared the crap out of kids. Or my nervous sweats every morning at 6:00 am at the hospital when the nurses would come take my blood for testing (I was a sickly kid, always in the hospital with something dumb, salmonella poisoning, sepsis). Or the time I actually remember last summer when I wanted to do something nice and give blood. I ended up with my legs in the air, feeling faint about the fact that they were taking blood out of me!

Mental. Squeamish.

I woke up at 7:00 and went to get the shot. I made the decision to get a shot I did not need (not like that tetanus, ugh…). I texted Josh as the needle was sitting on the table in front of me, “Nervous sweats…”. And then…

It didn’t hurt.

In fact, I barely felt it. I mean, mentally, I could feel the egg yolk and milk and whatever else they put in those silly vaccinations swimming through my muscles so that night while I was trying to be all “healthy” and “strong” lifting weights at Flywheel (spin on steroids), I had to skip the right arm stuff.

Mental, right?

{Top photo via Healing Touch}

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2013 2:58 pm

    ah, i hate shots, too. just the idea of them. haven’t gotten one yet this season – i’m crossing my fingers to get lucky and avoid the f-word completely this year 🙂

    • January 21, 2013 11:56 am

      If you make it through the next few weeks, you should be golden! Happy MLK Shoko!!

Leave a Reply

