Skip to content

Exploring Vail

January 15, 2013

“Its like when the air is so sweet you don’t have to lick the stamps.” – Matthew Geiyer

photo 2

Have you ever been to Colorado? Growing up, my parents were avid adventurers. So much so, they took all four of their children on road trips across the country. And they could never “drive through Colorado”. We stayed and played – rode horses through the mountains, white water rafted through the canyons, and hung out with some naked cuties at the hot springs.

For New Years, Josh and I headed back to my favorite place to visit some college friends and explore a new city I have never had the chance to visit. Driving up the mountains to Vail was beautiful in itself, besides it being midnight, dark, and -15 degrees. I always find it puzzling that when you are in the mountains, 10,000 feet up, you still don’t feel like you are in the mountains because you can’t see anything lower. I suppose that’s what makes it is so majestic up there.

DSC_0395

While we were there, everyone skied except for me. (Blame a tragic past in Traverse City.) I, instead, was able to explore Vail. We stayed at a gorgeous resort just west of the city called the Cascade. They had a free shuttle service that ran quite often so getting to and from places was a breeze.

DSC_0380

I wandered around, stopped in shops, and read until lunch everyday. I will say I expected the city to be a bit more thrifty/hippie but it turned out to be more luxurious. It was interesting to people watch and laugh at the kids who were experts while I sat on my toosh. I would meet up with everyone at the bottom of the gondola that led to the peaks. We would grabbed tacos at Tap Room and grilled cheese at The Diner. I would meet them out for dinner too. We would grab scrumptious pizza and beers and then listen to some live music. Surprisingly, or not, Vail had a great nightlife! I just had to be careful drinking in the altitude (light weight).

DSC_0436

There was also a gorgeous path connecting our resort to downtown. Josh and I took a walk one morning and I fell in love with the trees and the boulders. And I couldn’t stop laughing at the ducks with their butts in the air!

DSC_0417

DSC_0422

DSC_0429

New Years Eve we headed back to Tap Room, dressed to the nines, and enjoyed some dance music and some entertainment (brought on by our friends Matt and Alisha, of course). The DJ didn’t exactly play Lil’ Wayne so they improvised, listening closely to their iPhones.

IMG_1202

It was one of the first New Year’s I spent away from my family (can you believe that!?) and I ended up coming home with a fever, but overall, I had a wonderful time! It was so nice to see old friends and bring the New Year with a sweet kiss.

IMG_1209

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2013 3:14 pm

    Just fun to read and be there with you – Love you my Alex and Josh!! Gg

  2. January 15, 2013 5:36 pm

    I LOL at the mention of those naked cuties : )

    • Miken Leah permalink
      January 16, 2013 12:51 am

      that was my fav part too barb 🙂

Leave a Reply

