Skip to content

Christmas Movies

December 6, 2012

Remember when ABC Family started the 25 Days of Christmas? And then a few years later, they started The Countdown to the 25 Days of Christmas? I always found The Countdown odd but they really do show all the best movies. (Although, even though I am a Harry Potter fan, I never understood what witches and wizards have to do with Christmas.) I digress…

What are your favorite Christmas movies? Are you one to cuddle up with hot chocolate and watch Love Actually or sing “Where Are You Christmas” with Cindy Loo Who? Or do you just want to listen to the millions of one liners from Will Ferrell in Elf?

Regardless if you are a classics lover or a new age lover, we can all agree that these movies really are the best. We can only sit down and enjoy them once a year and nothing is better than putting you in the Christmas spirit. So here are my top six… agree or disagree?

Honorable mentions: How the Grinch Stole Christmas (the cartoon and Jim Carrey version), Rudolph the Red-nosed Reindeer, and The Santa Clause.

6. Elf. “Buddy the Elf, what’s your favorite color?”, “Santa! I know him!”, “Oh, he’s an angry elf…”, “The best way to spread Christmas cheer is singing loud for all to hear.” Can anyone really get enough?

5. Home Alone. Look what ya did ya little JERK. Buzz, your girlfriend, woof! Ah, classic.

4. The Polar Express. You remember the first time you read the book when you were a kid. And every moment since then. But when they decided to make this simple book into a Tom Hanks animated film, how could you resist the train to the North Pole? While most people only watch this movie around Christmas, Frey watches it on repeat all year round. And he sings this song like a doll…

3. Love Actually. I will admit, I will watch this movie on any given day throughout the year. I love Hugh Grant. And Kiera Knightly. And movies that intertwine 6 love stories in the 6 weeks leading up to Christmas.

2. Christmas Vacation. Because it always reminds me of my brother.

1. Miracle on 34th Street. But the 1994 version because I’m young.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Whitney Breanne permalink
    December 6, 2012 9:31 pm

    NEW STORY~~~ So in ELF when buddy first walks into the mall I forget what the store is called tight now although i watched it a million time) But there is a lady standing there spraying samples of perfume. She says, “passion fruit spray?” Buddy say, “Yes! I love fruit!” and Sprays it in his mouth. WELL thst is now the MEINKES favorite part of the movie. Frey asks Finn “FRUIT SPRAY” and pretends to squirt. Finn sticks out his tounge and sorta makesa giraffe noise HILARIOUS!!!!!!! they both crack up and i laugh so hard every time I cry!!! (Hope that makes sense- I am tired)

  2. Miken Leah permalink
    December 6, 2012 11:37 pm

    christmas vacation is my favorite. tim would say die hard. although miracle on 34th st is up there because the one guy’s name is mr. shellhammer!!

  3. Zach permalink
    December 7, 2012 4:28 pm

    … Oh, the silent majesty of a winter’s morn. The clean, cool, chill of a holiday air. And an a**hole in his bath robe emptying a chemical toilet into my sewer…

  4. December 2, 2013 10:20 am

    It’s a Wonderful Life! I swear I get choked up every time. And yes, I am just now replying to a 2012 post… but it’s still fitting for this time of year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

