Skip to content

Giving thanks.

November 29, 2012

Tis the season, right? I was so lucky to have the chance to go home over Thanksgiving. I’m not sure I have ever not been home and I honestly could not imagine being anywhere else. Thursday was the perfect day — one of those days where you can wear a sweater outside and the sun would do the rest of your warming. We ate at Josh’s grandparents first, like we always do and then made our way to my parents house for another full on meal. I took a million and half pictures with my new camera, literally. I just couldn’t help it! After a few too many glasses of wine and a few too many euchre losses (to Josh, no less!), I had to call it night to prepare for the best day of the year.

Black Friday.

But not really. I did not come from a true shopping family. Yes, we dabble and I’m sure if we had the time, energy, and money to shop, we would love it. But none of us do. So instead of the 3:00 am Black Friday, we have created a new tradition of our own: girls day. And we never really have a plan.

Last year, it was just my sisters and my mom and we headed up north to Michigan to walk through quaint little towns and window shop at a place that was not a mall. We ended up there all day long. This year, we added a few more to the group. Aunt Karen and GG joined in our unplanned adventure. This time we didn’t go as far, just down the road, but had another amazing time just hanging out with girls. No babes, no Robin’s, just girls. (Sorry dad, love ya!)

And next year, we’ll add more, I’m sure. Because while we have no kids, I believe each of us bought something for the kids. And talked about the babes all day.

Until we got to the restaurant when the subject changed to something so incredibly girly I cannot speak about it to you.

Not here anyways.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Zach permalink
    November 29, 2012 3:19 pm

    not literally. you did not take 1 million 500 thousand pictures. 😛

  2. Karen johansen permalink
    November 29, 2012 8:37 pm

    Can I join you next year?

  3. November 29, 2012 8:51 pm

    My cup is filled to the top – Thanks for a truly beautiful Thanksgiving!!

  4. November 30, 2012 12:12 am

    hey…you forgot your Aunt Karen was with us last year too…best day ever silly talk girl : )

Trackbacks

  1. Good Mood Monday « the shellhammer

Leave a Reply

