Skip to content

Love your job. (Nudge, nudge.)

November 14, 2012

Going off yesterday’s inspiration, I can’t help but think back to one year ago as I suffered through the day-to-day of a job I had no appreciation for.

I worked as a recruiter and I helped other people figure out what they wanted to do. In the beginning, I thought it sounded so selfless, so endearing, so helpful to society. When I truly began recruiting, I found the competitiveness and the hard goal atmosphere less appealing than I imagined. I found myself losing trust in people as they accepted offers, signed contracts, took drug tests and then decided to no-show their first day and to never hear from them again. (It is surprising how often this would happen.)

And it saddened me every day as I woke up at 6:00 am regretting the life and the “career” that was before me watching pretty much everything I wanted out of my days disappear. Many people are driven by money, which I find perfectly acceptable in a society that is driven by expensive trends. And, believe me, there is money in recruiting, especially if you are competitive, goal oriented, and, most importantly, motivated by money.

Which, sadly, I found out that I am not. It’s not that I don’t like money — New York City is one of the most expensive places in the world to live — but it has never been important. Being happy, working happily? That was important to me.

In my spare time…I was busy thinking about the only thing that is ever on my mind…events and baking. (Such. A. Girl.) But it’s true! Planning and scheduling and organizing and creating is what I did in my free time, it’s what I did to waste time. It’s what I loved. So I kept my eyes open and something came up.

God was listening, yes, and I was slightly proactive, yes. Somehow, in my first few months in New York, I had already met my now boss and neither of us had any clue. Last winter, after 5 miserable months, we ended up thrown together, her needing a new marketing assistant who mostly assisted with events, and me with a perfect background in events.

The last 10 months, I have been happier, healthier, and friendlier. Happier. All because I am now doing what I love to do in my free time. The good people help, I’ll admit.

So yesterday had a bit more meaning then I led on. And I know a few people who need a nudge – consider this your nudge.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

