Skip to content

Friday Flavor | Hurricane Chicken

November 9, 2012

I call it hurricane chicken simply because I scrounged it up last Monday night before our power went out. (Literally, I feel like we finished eating and then we were in the dark for 6 days.)

The problem with the recipie? Most of our ingredients were straight from Charleston and I don’t really know what they were! Everything, that is, except for the chicken. I believe that is why this is truly the best chicken I ever made, with a southern kick.

***And just to note, since Josh was working from home that day, he was a huge help in the kitchen.

Hurricane Chicken

Ingredients:
2 large boneless, skinless chicken breasts
4 tablespoons mustard (I used dijon but any type would work)
2 tablespoons honey (I used Charleston Honey with a kick from Savannah)
4 table spoons All Spice (This was straight from the Charleston markets and I don’t know what is was exactly, a mix of spices and add in some red hot pepper flakes)

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.

Mix the mustard and honey together in a bowl. If you like sweeter things, add more honey as desired. Pour the all spice seasoning into a separate bowl. Thoroughly dip the chicken in the honey mixture, then in the spices. Cover a baking sheet with foil and lightly spray with oil. Bake the chicken for 40-50 minutes.

Devour with some Charleston cornbread and fresh salsa before the lights go out.

I know this chicken sounds so easy and boring, but the kick from the pepper flakes mixed with the sweet honey is so decadant, I am still dreaming about it. Plus the honey makes the chicken incredibly moist!

We ate this while watching People Like Us…we fell in love with that movie but, unfortunately, were unaable to finish it due to the storm. We finally were able to finish it last night and I still love it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

