Skip to content

Happy (Belated) Birthday, Mom.

November 6, 2012

Have you met my mother? Hm, you are missing out.

She forgets it sometimes, but she is the most beautiful woman I know. It’s not just her beaming brown eyes or acute fashion sense, it’s her honesty and her willingness to help anyone and everyone. It’s the fact that she runs around a school all day making things right for those children through the eyes of God and still has energy to come home and call and listen to my banter about nothing in comparison. It’s that she loves each of her 4 children, 2 son-in-laws, and 2 grandsons equally. And she loves her husband maybe a bit more. And God a bit more than that. It’s that she put God and love in all of our lives. It’s that her and dad taught us adventure and passion, how to explore and how to dream.

She is the reason I am in New York City, the reason I followed my heart, the reason I miss home everyday.

She wrote this to me on my birthday last year: “There are days when I want to turn back the clock to when you were tiny and greeted your dad at the door giggling “not the mama”, to when I woke up to your smile less than an inch from my face, to when you read the back of cereal boxes with Ted under your chair, to when your crossed arms and pouty lips gave me the first glimpse of the determined young women you would become…I love you Ali…and know that I am so blessed to be your mom…wish I could hold you for a minute today…holding you tight in my heart instead…Happy Birthday!”

Here is my response Mama: “There are days when I want to turn back the clock to when I was tiny and ran from your arms to greet dad at the door giggling “not the mama”, to when I woke up to your smile less than an inch from my face, to when you poured me my cereal and stole Ted from under my chair because he needed a bath, to when I crossed my arms and pouted because you didn’t give me exactly what I wanted because you were making the determined young women I am today.”

I love you mama, I am blessed to have you and I wish I could hold you for a minute today. Holding you tight in my mind, soul, and heart. And can I say that through every thing last week, you were the one I needed to talk to the most. Glad we got to chat on Friday morning.

Happy belated birthday, wonderful lady. God has blessed the world with you.

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2012 8:14 pm

    Barb was born on a Sunday morning and the Doctor sat down on my bed and said”Angels are born on Sunday”

  2. Jamie permalink
    November 7, 2012 10:08 am

    Beautiful! Just Beautiful!

  3. November 7, 2012 1:31 pm

    okay…i am crying now….JUST BEAUTIFUL, YOUR LOVE AND FRIENDSHIP XOXO

Trackbacks

  1. Christians Anonymous | Happy (Belated) Birthday, Mom.
  2. A Way to Learn A Lot About Me. | the shellhammer
  3. Lieb. | the shellhammer
  4. Good Mood Monday | the shellhammer
  5. Good Mood Monday | the shellhammer
  6. Happy Birthday Mama! | the shellhammer

Leave a Reply

