Skip to content

Good Mood Monday

October 15, 2012

I took a short hiatus at the end of last week. (The wedding must have really took a lot of energy out of me!) But now, I am back, fully ready to write. And to explain to you why, on this weird weather Monday, why I am in a good mood.

1. Shopping. Wait… what? Yes, if you know me at all you will hear me complain about shopping to no ends. However, this weekend my dear friend Kelsey and I went shopping for a few hours in SoHo. It was her first experience “SO”uth of “HO”uston, her first time in Zara, and her first time in Aritzia. We even dared to buy some mini’s from Baked by Melissa. You can’t fully visit SoHo without savoring an adorable little Cookies & Cream cupcake.

2. Autumn. It has finally drifted it’s way east, my friends. The leaves are beginning to change to bright reds and oranges. 10th street looks like it belongs in a magazine. (What’s new?) The sidewalks are warm in the sun and crisp in the shade. Beautifully knit scarves are everywhere. While I did not make it to the park this weekend, I will be sure to on the next sunny day!

3. Muffins and Scones. My friend, Jayne, made the most incredible pumpkin, cream cheese muffins and cranberry scones for brunch yesterday. Sometimes I find scones to be a bit dry and dull but hers were so full of flavor, I stole some to take home and enjoy for the rest of the week. Perhaps she will share the recipe with you soon.

4. Cookbooks. I have a thing for beautiful cookbooks. I never buy them but I often wander into bookstores just to sneak a peek at the food. When I enter Anthropologie, there is not one cookbook I do not want to devour. Considering Josh and I often cook on Saturday mornings, this one is looking pretty appetizing as of late.

5. Pinterest. I’ve been caught red-handed too many times by my productive self to get off Pinterest and actually create. And now that I have found a kitchen that is so much like mine already (small kitchens here in New York, if you were wondering), it’s time to make a trip to the Upper West Side Home Goods.

HomeGoods | Blog | Unique Home Decor and Affordable Home Furnishings

6. Baseball. It’s October in baseball and the Postseason made it’s all too familiar stop in the Bronx. To be perfectly honest, I absolutely disdain both the Tigers and the Yankees. But the game on Saturday night was incredible. When Suzuki hit his two run homer, the entire stadium was on its feet chanting his name. And at 1:00 am when Derek Jeter fractured his ankle, all you could hear was DER-EK JE-TER for 5 whole minutes. But the Tigers still took it in the 12th. Oh, Jhonny Paralta, how you melt my little Ohio heart.

7. This song. Because it combines Glee and Coldplay. Sorry for the depressing tone but I just cannot get it out of my head.

8. This song. Because I feel bad for the last one and want to leave on an amazing country note.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Miken Leah permalink
    October 15, 2012 6:36 pm

    i saw that kitchen on pinterest too…i was trying to figure out where i could hang my pans…but i have no wall to do that 😦 itll look great in your kitchen though!! i am having trouble organizing my kitchen. my cupboards are small and not deep enough!!

    • October 15, 2012 8:33 pm

      Didn’t even find a thing for the kitchen! Shucks. But found some good frames for the bedroom. Just need to find someone to hang them…

      • Miken Leah permalink
        October 15, 2012 8:41 pm

        i need to find someone to hang my head board

  2. Barb Shellhammer permalink
    October 16, 2012 5:20 pm

    Why do you always make me miss you soooo much? And Mikey…your dad will hang your head board as soon as he recoups : )

Leave a Reply

