Skip to content

(Really) Good Mood Monday

October 8, 2012

Aside from waking up at 3:00 am, having to work today (Columbus Day), leaving my family, and not washing my hair, I’m still in a surprisingly good mood. The adrenaline must still be pumping from this weekend.

1. Mr. and Mrs. Oliver! It’s official folks, my sister is no longer a Shellhammer (and that means she is no longer associated with this blog via last name. KIDDING.) And it was beautiful; everything went perfectly. I probably didn’t mention that she was getting married in a working horse stable and the reception was taking place in the arena attached, meaning the families (and owners) built the wedding from the ground up. So everything far exceeded all expectations and the hard work truly paid off. The bride and groom were lovely and I don’t think we stopped dancing until 1:00 am.

2. Roomies! I got to see my college roomies this weekend. Not much can beat running errands with Emmie all day, cutting a rug with Sara, and drinking a beer with Reese. I miss my buddies.

3. Late night talks with my cousin. Whitney and I finally got to spend some time together last night after all of the bustle of the week. We stayed up late (10:00 pm) chatting away. Considering I have not seen her since her wedding last December, we had a lot to catch up on! And yes, 10:00 pm is late when we had to wake up at 3:00 am for our flight back to the east coast.

4. My parents. They are something else. This past week I have never seen them so calm (well, given the circumstances). They both worked incredibly hard to pull that barn together. The vision Mikey wanted came to life because of them and it couldn’t have been more perfect.

5. Family. I have a relatively large family. And Saturday they were all in one room. It was truly amazing to see. Yesterday, Miken and I went over to the lodge where our Aunt Kim and Uncle Dave were staying. They have 9 grandkids of their own and all of them were running around in excitement to be together. It was wonderful!

6. Warm weather. It’s gone! I can’t believe it’s gone. But I am praying for an Indian Summer to come fast. And I am pretending I am on a beach somewhere.

7. 2 year olds. They crack me up! Sometimes I just cannot believe the words that come out of Frey’s mouth – he is just too funny. As he was pulling Finn down the aisle in the wagon, he just kept saying “Finn is heavy!”. He really is heavy!

8. The wedding is over. While this is so bittersweet, manual labor work is done and the beautiful marriage work can begin.

9. Acts of Kindness. Most have been related to the wedding lately and I’m not sure if they count but I have been at Miken’s becken call and she wouldn’t let me escape to be nice to other people! (Seriously.)

Obviously I have a lot to say about this wedding so, I suppose, more on that later? For now, my exhaustion will ensue and rest will come easy.

Until then…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Zach permalink
    October 8, 2012 1:34 pm

    that went way too fast …

  2. October 8, 2012 2:51 pm

    I am so proud of my relatively large family and all of thier wonderful friends. What a joy to have you all together. This celebration was for you dear Miken and Tim. May the Lord keep you in His tender care and bless you as richly as He has blessed me.Love Gg

Leave a Reply

