Skip to content

Dream Home

September 25, 2012
tags: , ,

Do you ever think about your dream home? For a long time, I pictured a blue farm-house in the country in Wisconsin or Illinois. Somewhere close enough to Chicago to commute but far enough away to relax. It seemed so simple, and so me.

While this is still a dream that I would like to see come to fruition some day, for now, I have a new dream home. This is my dream city home.

The first time I walked past this house on a quiet little street in the West Village, I knew. People say you just know when you find the love of your life? Well, maybe they are really talking about homes. I now will walk out of my way to get a glimpsed of the ivy covered siding and oak lined 10th street. I can’t get enough of the large red door and the gold “27” hanging above it.

The significance of the red door: Emmie and I choose our college dorm because of the red doors. And we met the most amazing people. I’ve been in love with red doors ever since.

The significance of 10th Street: 10 is the perfect number and has been used in every sport, password (sh!), and lucky number I have had to use.

The significance of “27”: My birthdate. And how old my mother was when she had me. All good things happen with 27.

27 West 10th Street.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Barb Shellhammer permalink
    September 25, 2012 11:41 pm

    all good things…ahreed!

  2. Barb Shellhammer permalink
    September 25, 2012 11:42 pm

    or agreed!

  3. September 27, 2012 9:56 am

    U never cease to amaze me

Trackbacks

  1. Good Mood Monday « the shellhammer

Leave a Reply

