Skip to content

Painting

August 15, 2012

Would you ever paint an apartment or home you do not own? It is a tough decision because you are essentially saying you will paint it all white again when you move out, doubling the work. But if you knew instantly that you were going to be in this place for a long time, do you think it is worth it?

I, desperate for change, did it. Within three months of living in our bare-white walled apartment, I became frustrated, went to Home Depot, and picked out the most beautiful blue I could find on a whim. Then, as the paint sat in the corner for the next few weeks, I contemplated over whether we should or shouldn’t paint this one wall. One Saturday, as we watched Ohio State desperately play for their lives against Purdue, I become some angry so I began taping the lines of the wall in an effort to release my frustration. Josh continued to watch the game until halftime and finally gave in to help. We painted two coats on the wall in one hour, waited two days for it to dry completely, and I fell in love.

I am so happy we painted! And we had fun! Minus Ohio State really losing to Purdue.

Tonight, I get to help a friend paint her new apartment and I am so excited to see how it will turn out. She is going with a pale blue with eggplant curtains.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Whitney Breanne permalink
    September 5, 2012 8:35 am

    cute pic of that little boy on your wall!

Leave a Reply

