Skip to content

Flavor | Bacon Wrapped Dates

August 14, 2012
tags: , ,

Do you ever sit at a restaurant, take a bite of an amazing dish and say “I can make that.” I do it more often than not, because, after all, I am an expert chef. (Not really – this one time, I screwed up cinnamon rolls to the point where there was just a liquid-y, dough-y, butter-y mess all over my counters that took hours to fully clean.) Anyways, sometimes I actually do succeed in making these masterpieces of melt in your mouth goodness – with a little lot of help from Pinterest and Marth Stewart.

I know I wrote to you about Boqueria and all of the amazing deliciousness we consume while sitting at the bar drinking our Sangria. But also about those dates wrapped in bacon. Oh, those dates. I didn’t even know what dates were until Samantha made me try one, knowing I would fall in love. And I fell in love so much, I went to the grocery determined to find them. They had to be relatively easy to make, only 4 ingredients that I could find – bacon, dates, cheese, and almonds. When I looked up the recipe on Pinterest, LC directed me straight to Martha Stewart for the ultimate “Devils on Horseback”.

Oh, I’m sorry, you don’t know what dates are? No worries, I don’t either. Perhaps the conversation below will help clear some things up.

No, I didn’t think so. But the conversation does explain why I love my sisters – and my whole family. Back to the point – dates are fruit (yes, a fruit) that are a common staple food in the Middle East and South Asia. To me, they take similar to figs. California grows dates too! All you really need to know is they are delicious.

With a little help from my friend Martha, I was able to come up with the most amazing dates wrapped in bacon. I now make them all the time. I am even making them for Miken’s bridal shower this weekend, although I never did ask how many to make…eek.

Bacon Wrapped Dates
6 Slices of Bacon
12 Dates
4 oz of cheese (I typically use goat but any strong cheese will suffice)
12 Whole Almonds

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

1. Slice the dates lengthwise but not all the way through. If there is a pit, take out.
2. With a spoon, place some cheese in the center of each date.
3. Press an almond into the center as well and close the date as best possible.
4. Slice the bacon lengthwise to create 12 long strips.
5. Wrapped each strip of bacon around each date and secure with a toothpick.
6. Place on baking sheet and cook for 20 minutes.

Pinned Image

Enjoy!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Kimmy permalink
    August 14, 2012 5:44 pm

    We have this place in Arkansas that has bacon wrapped dates and a southwestern ranch style dipping sauce.. they are divine. Guess I’m going to have to make my own when I move 🙂

    • August 14, 2012 5:56 pm

      Oh my goodness, I never thought about dipping them in Ranch! Of course, New Yorkers don’t even know what Ranch is. Doing this weekend. Another thing on my to-do list – call you back.

  2. August 14, 2012 6:25 pm

    WENT TO A COOKING CLASS AND THAT WAS ONE OF THE ITEMS WE MADE : ) PRETTY SURE YOUR MOM MADE THEM….YUMMY <3<3<3

  3. mikey permalink
    August 15, 2012 3:47 am

    oh geez…now i am hungry for them! you should try them like the spotted pig too! poach and pear and put them in the middle (what else does the spotted pig do? do they put cheese in them – i have never poached anything but would love to try it)

Trackbacks

  1. How to throw the perfect Bridal Shower « the shellhammer
  2. International Bacon Day | the shellhammer

Leave a Reply

