Skip to content

KIT

August 9, 2012

Pinned Image

Keep in touch.

Do you guys find this as difficult as me? Sometimes I feel like I am the only one in the world who fails to keep in touch with everyone. And I don’t mean my fleeting friends that I hung out with for a few months – I mean my sisters, my college roommates, my best friends from high school, my MOM.

I called her last night to talk about the bridal shower that is coming up far too quickly and slowly realized that I hadn’t spoken to her since the Bachelorette Party. Who goes a week and a half without speaking to their own mother? This girl. And while texting is the best way to get a hold of my dad (or email), I still feel like I haven’t had a conversation with him in weeks. And then there is Zach, you know, my amazing brother who I have the best conversations with and somehow cannot break through the time zone barrier. One hour behind EST apparently is just too much to handle. (Well, to be honest I do think about calling him around 7:00 pm and realize he is on the bus or train coming home from work and it will be loud so I decide to wait an hour. But by 8:00 pm, the Bachelor Pad is on. Does that show trump all?! Sorry, Zach.)

But still there is GG, Diane, Neena, Stina, Cara, Mollie, Leah, Emmie, Kelsey, Sara, Clare, Kimmy, Bri, Amy, Marlee, Tom, Matt…and a zillion more that I missed because I am overwhelmed by all the people I want, so bad, to talk and chat with every day. Instead, I get Facebook updates and texts. What would I have done before these? Would I have forced myself to call? Or write? I just can’t imagine I would have found the motivation in myself to do these things when I can’t urge myself to pick up the phone now.

Luckily, my favorite blogger is the same way as me and wrote about a healthy friendship tip that could go a long way. Hopefully I can use this in the future. In the meantime, I will see all of my closest high school friends and my whole family in a week. I am thankful for that!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen Willer permalink
    August 12, 2012 7:38 pm

    I think keeping in touch is a personal affair. I suppose facebook works for instant messages, but sometimes a good face to face conversation every once in a while can transcend time, space, and the distance that seems to grow between loved ones in this digital age. It was nice seeing you at the lake. Karen

    • August 14, 2012 5:37 pm

      I agree! The face to face is the best but so difficult to do. This is definitely something I need to work on.

  2. Zach permalink
    August 14, 2012 5:25 pm

    wth dude, bachelor pad, really ?!

Leave a Reply

