Skip to content

Patchouli Cabin

July 31, 2012

From New York, it isn’t easy to be there for Miken in every step of the wedding planning process. Yes, I get updates and give any advice I have, but rarely do I feel like I am helping. Until it was time to plan the Bachelorette Party.

Whitney and I really put our heads together on this one trying to figure out what Mikey would really like in a bachelorette party instantly knowing that a night on the town would not be it. But camping, or wineries, or a little cottage on a lake for a weekend was exactly it. So Whit found the perfect place on a lake in southern Michigan close to some adorable vinyards. We invited the bridesmaids and close friends/family for a whole weekend on the water.

20120731-075849.jpg

I became a little nervous about the weekend when I headed to my flight on Thursday afternoon – did we do enough planning, is the cottage going to be ok, is everyone going to have fun? I began to stress myself out a bit but those questions should have been the least of my worries as a storm cell was sitting on top of Lake Erie. We were not able to fly through it so instead we waiting on the runway from 4:30 – 9:00 waiting for it to pass New York. I landed at 10:30 beyond stressed but then had to wait an additional 3 hours for Josh’s flight to land because they were more delayed than us! Talk about a rocky start – we didn’t get home until 2:30 am (7 hours passed our expected arrival). Insanity. But then I got to wake up to my Finn and all was happy in the world.

It was not until we finally arrived at the cabin, rushed to get everything ready, and Miken walked in the door that I finally relaxed. The cabin was adorable and built for a perfect girls weekend with a cute little loft up a winding, rustic staircase and accessway to a quite lake. We couldn’t have asked for a better place. We lit some candles, hung lanterns, and prepared all the games just in time to get Miken her welcoming glass of wine. And all night we enjoyed each other’s company, played games (learning a ton about Tim), opened presents, and fell in love with Patchouli oil.

20120731-075901.jpg

Saturday, we headed on the wine tour to three different wineries in the area. With Miken equipped with her “Future Mrs. Oliver” sash, we enjoyed the cheese, the wine, and the views. We also enjoyed the van that I rented and the fact that the left sliding door just never wanted to close. After 8 bottles of wine (>1 per person), some dancing, and a breadman, we made our way back to the cabin for a camp fire. The perfect ending as all the boys were coming up in the morning. (Thanks for starting the fire Joel!! Lord knows we could not have done that…).

20120731-080002.jpg

20120731-075915.jpg

20120731-075930.jpg

It was, to me, a perfect weekend. While I only averaged 5 hours of sleep every night, I was happy to spend time with some of my favorite people. And they aren’t even my bridesmaids! We learned that Jenna loves Patchouli oil, we must all (and will do) 50 push-ups before the wedding, we must all sit up straighter, Kelsie loves celebrity gossip, Tim loves Miken’s legs, and we can drink a lot of wine.

20120731-075942.jpg

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jude permalink
    July 31, 2012 2:34 pm

    Sounds fabulous! Where was the perfect cabin? Can’t wait for the big day

    • August 7, 2012 2:22 pm

      The cabin was on Carpenter’s Lake in Hillsdale. It was adorable. We are planning a girls weekend there every summer from now on and, obviously, you are coming!

Trackbacks

  1. KIT « the shellhammer
  2. The End of Summer « the shellhammer

Leave a Reply

