Skip to content

The 4th

July 16, 2012

On July 4th, I woke up with a still swollen face and radiating skin that would instantly recoil on any given moment. The swelling was going down a bit, thanks to the ice and ibuprofen, but the pain was still there. And the fear of the sun. As luck would have it, it was the 4th of July, my parents were on their way into town, and our friends were having a rooftop party for the whole day with a candid viewing of the fireworks at night.

When Josh saw my face, he made a decision that maybe I should spend one more day indoors. “NO WAY!” was my sassy response. Luckily Barb had my back and said if I bought a sun hat, wore sunscreen and sunglasses, I could spend the day with my friends. Obviously I rely on everyone else to make these all too important decisions.

So we went to brunch at yummy Cornerstone Cafe in Alphabet City/Lower East Side. They have the best omelets and egg sandwiches. Then we walked to REI for shoes for Rob and a sun hat for me. Surprisingly, I found an adorable blue one that didn’t look too lame. And even though sun hats are definitely in this season, I’m just not a hat person. We then headed to our rooftop party in TriBeCa and grilled out for the rest of the day.

It was incredibly hot up there and I found myself getting dizzy often. I would sneak away to the apartment to escape the sun (and some drunks that excluded my friends). The air conditioning felt so good blowing on my skin while it began to peel away. I was quite thankful that I did not blister but the peeling was so itchy!

When the sun finally decided to place itself behind the building and offer shade to its prisoners, I went back outside to enjoy the company. Unfortunately the sun hat was getting in the way of conversations and had to be taken off, showing off all the swollen skin that lies beneath. Not to worry, my friends did not care (and some did not even notice)! We enjoyed the fireworks on the roof with my parents – they were magnificent and, I swear, the longest show I have ever seen.

What I came home to was  swollen feet from standing and walking most of the day. But my face was obviously healing and almost back to normal. It really was a happy 4th!

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2012 7:55 pm

    What do you mean” your not a hat person ” Your one of my best models!!

    • Barb Shellhammer permalink
      July 16, 2012 11:18 pm

      my thoughts exactly…and oh did she look cute in her sunhat ; )

Trackbacks

  1. Up on the Rooftop « the shellhammer

Leave a Reply

