Skip to content

One of those weeks.

July 10, 2012

It really was one of the those weeks last week. You know what I am talking about – one where every little thing goes the other way and it seems that you simply cannot get out of bed. Well, I almost literally did not get our of bed for two whole days. And I wish it didn’t happen over the 4th of July but I guess that is to blame on the summer sun. Should I start at the beginning? I think so…

Sara and I had yet to decide where to go for our mini girls weekend. It came down to me driving to DC or meeting “in the middle” by going to Asbury Park on the Jersey Shore to see a country  concert. Somehow, mainly due to the price of train tickets, the decision was made to meet at Asbury Park. And let me tell you, I was overjoyed that I would get to see Dierks Bentley in concert again. I took the New Jersey Transit train from Penn Station out to Long Branch and transferred to the Bayhead line after about an hour and a half. The last 30 minutes flew by and the next thing I knew I was walking in front of the Stone Pony listening to a member of the Asbury Park Chamber of Commerce talk about Bruce Springsteen and the likes. Apparently, when he is not on tour, it is not uncommon to find him drinking a beer at the pub with the locals. Sara was nearing the end of her 3 hour drive around the same time and picked me up on the corner to park. There was nowhere to be but the beach. We ate these amazing asian fusion tacos and relaxed for a bit before making our way to the hotel.

The hotel was a different story. We wanted to be close to the action but it seemed the beach hotels were $300 a night (not happening) and all the other close hotels were pretty crappy. We chose the crap and stayed at the Crystal Inn about a mile from the beach. I would never recommend this place to anyone unless all you wanted was a place to sleep. It was old, dingy, and still smelled like the 1980’s. And note that the “continental breakfast” was AWFUL. I spit out the donut, if that was a donut, and we stopped at 7-Eleven to rinse our mouths out with milk.

But, enough about the hotel. After quick showers, we were off to the highlight of my week. Dierks Bentley in real life. We stopped by quite literally the most amazing pizza bar across the street from the Stone Pony call Porta where we people watched with our Corona waiting for 7:00 pm. I think they need something with this rustic ambiance in New York City.  Needless to say, once we got to the concert, Dierks was awesome. He kept it upbeat and only sang two slow songs. But they were the best ones. And even through all of the beers and crowd, we managed to squeeze pretty close to the stage to get some good shots.

 

After the concert, we walked on the beach, climbed some rocks, fell on some algae, bought some crepes on the boardwalk, and took a taxi back to the creepy hotel. But instead of stopping at the Crystal Inn, we got some Papa Johns because we were hungry and I have not had Papa John’s in a good solid year. We loaded it with peppers, onions, sausage, and pepperoni. What else could a girl want? We went back to the hotel, chowed, and passed out to Nick @ Nite. It was merely 11:30 pm.

The next day was when the trouble began for me. We went to the beach (with our left over pizza) around 9:00 am. I ultimately decided that sunscreen was out of the question because I rarely burn and that was smart and really what was I thinking that was a really dumb idea. As we laid out and dipped in and out of the salt water, I could feel my skin tighten. After 6 hours in the 97 degree sun, we had to call it a day. Sara dropped me off at the train on her way back to DC. (Note: good thing we didn’t go to DC because look what happened there that weekend!) But the train ride proved to be ridiculous. I sat there feeling the burn sink deeper and deeper into my skin. After 2 hours, my shoulders resembled more of a rough piece of red leather than skin. My face felt like it was on fire and yet I had chills throughout my bones. Can you see where this is going?

Yup. Sun poisoning. Essentially, the sun kicked my ass and I looked like it had. I wish I could say it was only my eyelids that swelled, but really it was my whole body. My face was dropping because my skin was so heavy, my thighs became more like weights and I couldn’t walk. My stomach…oh my poor, red, stomach began to peel so many layers I actually thought I was a snake. I wish I could say I have had worse experiences than this but I’m not really sure that I have. I was nauseous, dizzy, and in an incredible amount of pain. For three days this went on. I’m still debating if I should put up pictures because it was pretty funny looking back now…

For now I will leave off on Wednesday, the 4th of July. With my face still swollen and my eyes terrified of the sun. I will tell you about the rest of the week later. Just know I had a good time, my face is back to normal, I am surprisingly tan, and it wasn’t at all worth it.

Wear Sunscreen.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2012 9:43 pm

    I LOVE YOU – I HAVE TO RUN TO HAVE SUPPER WITH AUNT RUTH BUT CAN NOT WAIT TO GET BACK AND FINISH THIS VIDEO – WHAT GOOD ADVISE – JUST WHAT I NEED RIGHT NOW – Gg

Trackbacks

  1. Summer of Love | Woodstock « the shellhammer
  2. Good Mood Mondays « the shellhammer

Leave a Reply

