Skip to content

Word on the Street

June 29, 2012

Happy Friday World!

I am so happy to be checking out of work today for a weekend and week ahead full of fun. Tomorrow, I will be meeting my college roommate at Asbury Park on the Jersey Shore for some beach fun and Dierks Bentley. I think it may be too hot outside to wear my blue jeans but I can definitely bring my white tank top. Do you know how gorgeous the Jersey Shore is? I hope you don’t think it is anything like the show. I promise to take some pictures of the Atlantic for ya’ll! (Notice how the country comes out as soon as I think I will be leaving the city?) It’s only an hour and half mass transit ride from the city for some fun in the sun.

My parents are coming to visit for the 4th of July and I am so excited to see them! I have not seen them since Memorial Day and that is a surprisingly long time for us. And next weekend, I will be heading out of the city again – up north to the Catskills with friends. “Tis the season to head out of the tourist trapped city and relax with a good book on any beach that can be found.

Some crazy things have happened in the last day or so that I thought I would share. Usually, I’m not much about celebrity gossip but it just so happens that some of my favorites have been in the news.

I love Katie Holmes. Ever since I watch reruns of Dawson’s Creek on weekday mornings in the summer during high school, I have grown quite fond of her crooked smile and her little Suri. She is also from Toledo so the soft spot didn’t go away when she decided to marry this guy. They have announce, however, that they will be getting a divorce. I am shocked for reasons I cannot explain and yet happy for her. I wonder what happened?

Even worse (or better, depending on how you look at it), Johnny and Vanessa split as well. If you know my obsession with this man, you understand. Now is my chance!

Another tragedy that took place yesterday was the death of Nora Ephron. Nora was a fantastic writer of books, movies, and anything else she deemed necessary to embark. She wrote three of ym favorite movies of all time: Sleepless in Seattle, You’ve Got Mail, and When Harry Met Sally – do you think Nora and I both have a thing for Meg Ryan? Whenever any of these movies are on TV, I put everything down and watch. It’s like gravity sucks my eyes to the screen and won’t let me go. She is an excellent writer and I truly want to read her books.

On a happy note, Adele is pregnant. Praying for a voice half the size of mum’s!

Have a safe weekend!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. sara sklenka permalink
    June 29, 2012 7:54 pm

    YAY to paragraph #1. totally bringing my white tank.
    YAY to T&K split (heard this on the radio on my drive home from work today). i clicked on your “this guy” link – she was his THIRD wife? wtf tom.
    johnny – do it.

    • June 29, 2012 8:02 pm

      HA! I thought the same thing. How did we miss the first two? During my life time, he was only married to Nicole. She fits better with Keith, right mate?

  2. Whitney Breanne permalink
    July 3, 2012 7:21 pm

    hows your face?
    lol

Leave a Reply

