Skip to content

My Best Friend’s Wedding

June 21, 2012

I will state this clear as day:
My best friend’s wedding is in 107 days and I am so excited.

This girl means everything to me – “she’s my whole world” as Barb would say. She has always been there, right by my side, through every life experience you could imagine. I followed her most of my life, looked up to her, and even had approximately 5,840 sleepovers with her. 16 years of living in the same house will do that to you! I’m not sure how I got so lucky that God was all, “Al, I’m going to give you some cool people to live with so your life is easy,” but He did. I’m pretty grateful for that.

But with the wedding “so close” and me “so far away”, it has been hard to help plan. All I can really offer is words of encouragement and advice over the phone or Skype. Do you like this color or that color? Should we have one sleeve or two? Do we want a black fireplace or a white fireplace? (That color, one sleeve, white fireplace…) I hope I am being helpful, but sometimes it seems so much time goes by and then I talk to her or mom and they just keep moving along.

But there is one thing I can do – with the help of my other best friend, Whit. (Yes, you can have more than one best friend.) We are planning an amazing Bachelorette Party. I know it is going to be awesome. And if you know anything about me and my sisters, you know that it is going to be 100% the opposite of the club scene at most bachelorette parties. I am not saying there won’t be alcohol, because there will, but there will also be a sweet cabin on a lake with plenty of good people all there for our one special girl. I can’t give it all away because I’m a fan of surprises so hush, hush!

(Tim, until you share a bedroom with her for 16 years, she’s mine. Still love you though.)

And since it is the next time I am going to see her, I am counting down to that. 36 days until I get to spend a weekend with my best friend. And 107 days until she marries her new best friend, Tim.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Miken Leah permalink
    June 22, 2012 8:56 pm

    you make me weep silly girl! I am the one who is grateful!

  2. Miken Leah permalink
    June 22, 2012 8:58 pm

    whoops….it was your mother on Miken’s computer…I said the previous comment : )

Trackbacks

  1. So here I am in my new apartment… « the shellhammer

Leave a Reply

