Skip to content

Revolution

May 9, 2012

In the third grade, I vividly remember Mrs. Molnar teaching us about outer space. Before she taught us anything, she had us draw where we thought Earth fell in the grand scheme of the solar system. I drew a picture of the moon revolving around Earth (with arrows), and Earth, in turn, revolving around the sun. (I also tried to portray the moon and Earth’s rotation during the process.)  I turned it in at the end of class and, much to my surprise, the next day I received my drawing back with an “A” written at the top. (I wasn’t really surprised…I was smart in third grade.)

Well, Mrs. Molnar, I am stating today that you and I were both wrong.

Earth/Life/Whatever actually revolves around Ohio State. (Didn’t see that coming, did you mom?) But it’s true, to a sense. Most of what I read, watch, and dream about has to do with Ohio State. I know this is completely selfish and isn’t true for everyone, unless of course you are a Buckeye, but it’s true for me. So pretend that picture above has a Block O in the middle, and let’s move on.

The reason I am saying all of this is because I am currently reading one of the most influential books about Ohio State that I will ever read. (Not true in any way.) Don’t Put Me In, Coach by Mark Titus is hilarious on too many levels. And while I am learning nothing about life, nor am I reading a story I haven’t read before via Mark Titus’s blog, Club Trillion, I can’t put the book down nor stop laughing at the stupid shit this kid does to his teammates.

And to give him even more credit than he deserves, he wrote an amazing piece today on Greg Oden. Greg was a year older than me and I desperately wanted him to stay at OSU for at least another year so I could say I walked by him on campus as a freshman. Needless to say, he decided to forgo his college career and enter the NBA draft. Since he was selected as the first overall pick, it probably wasn’t a bad choice. Hell, why am I telling his story? Mark does a much better job, and you can read it here. Humorous and delicate at the same time, Mark knows how to write the most biased story of a first overall draft pick bust.

Don’t worry GG, I know life revolves around God. But you have to admit, Ohio State is pretty important too!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2012 6:48 pm

    Great job, my little Buckeye!!

  2. sara sklenka permalink
    May 23, 2012 4:09 pm

    i was just thinking today how at least half of my wardrobe is scarlet, gray or ohio state-related.

Leave a Reply

