Skip to content

CityScape

May 2, 2012

Can you believe it? It has been 10 years and 9 months since September 11, 2001. And this week in New York City something amazing has progressed. One World Trade Center has officially become the tallest building in the city. It has surpassed One Bryant Park and it has surpassed the Empire State Building to “replace”, as stated by CNN, the Twin Towers. (No offense CNN, but “replace” doesn’t seem like a fitting word for this situation.) And it continues to grow…

If you didn’t know, I’m from Ohio. And though I was not directly affected by 9/11, I still remember exactly where I was and who I was with. I remember what our teachers told us and what the principal said on the announcements. I remember watching it over and over for the next few days wondering what in the world is going on. But never, for the life of me, did I expect to one day be living where it all happened. To meet people who were here, who watched it live, who lost friends and family. I never thought Josh would live next door and work across the street (I also didn’t know Josh in 7th grade). I now love hearing their stories – somehow they all tend to be inspiring, like, “Here I am 10 years later – living.”

Image from: gulfnews.com

Yes, I felt closer to the event when I made the decision to move here. It was unavoidable. But then my mom gives me this book, One Tuesday Morning by Karen Kingsbury. (I know she gave it to me on purpose – probably to get me to cry for some messed up reason. That’s a joke mom, but seriously??) So I began to read about these tragic events that unfolded and I felt like I was thrown directly into the fire, literally. And I started probing my co-workers and asking some probably too-intense questions. I was just so interested. I think crying yourself to sleep for a few days over an event that happened ten years ago to 3,000 people you didn’t know can have a very strange effect on you. Ultimately, I feel like hindsight tells us to scream at all the NYPD and NYFD to get out of there even though they wouldn’t listen.

Anyway, that was a tangent. This is not supposed to be a sad post of the past but instead a happy post of the present. Because people here really are living – this city is resilient. And the cityscape this week has proved it’s true. 

P.S. My sister just landed in New York City for the first time ever. I get to spend 5 days with my best friend! I cannot contain my excitement!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

