Skip to content

Monkey Bread

April 25, 2012

Two months ago, I started a new job. When I first moved here in July, I had a position as a recruiter. As much as I enjoyed the people I worked with and the fact that I was helping others (as much as I could), I knew that recruiting was not what I wanted to do for a career. I was lucky enough to have met my current boss during kickball in the fall and this new position fell into my lap. Marketing and Events is what I truly want to do, so here I am, living a dream first job.

When I first started, everyone, and I mean everyone, was so nice. I couldn’t have asked for a smoother transition. I have already become so close to those who work in my office that it depresses me to watch someone else move on. But, after two months here, one of my beloved team members is gearing up for her next adventure in life. She has been here for five years, and this, too, was her first job out of college. This girl is special. She is one of the happiest people I have ever met – full of determination and life; a sparkling personality.

So, on her last week with us, we are throwing her a surprise party! (Who would have guessed – a couple of event planners throwing a party??) Theme: Dessert Potluck! On the menu: Magnolia Banana Pudding, Magnolia Cupcakes, Homemade Lemon Tart (by Mary), and Homemade Monkey Bread (by me via Betty Crocker). Oh, should I mention that I love, love, love to cook? And I love, love, love, LOVE to bake! I love both of these things almost as much as sports.

And I love photography. I am not great at it. In fact, I am not even slightly good at it. (As much as I pretend when I steal my sisters “nice” camera and take a million pictures of everyone.) So don’t mind the pictures below!

Monkey Bread
2/3 cup granulated sugar
2 teaspoons cinnamon

4 cans refrigerated buttermilk biscuits
10 tablespoons butter
1 cup packed brown sugar

1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease or spray 12-cup fluted tube pan. Cover the middle tube with a small piece of foil.
2. Mix granulated sugar and cinnamon in 1-gallon bag. Separate dough into biscuits; cut each in quarters.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 3. Shake biscuit quarters in bag to coat; place in pan. Sprinkle any extra sugar mixture over biscuits.
4. In 1-quart saucepan, bring butter and brown sugar to boiling over medium-high heat; boil 1 minute, stirring constantly. Pour over biscuit quarters and then remove foil from the top of the tube.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 5. Bake 30 to 45 minutes or until golden brown. Cool 5 minutes. Turn upside down; pull apart to serve.
 
What a great send off…wish I could eat like this every day! We will miss you Maura!!
 
 
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

