Skip to content

Let’s Go Mets!

April 24, 2012

Last year, while boredom overtook me in class, my friend and I started creating our bucketlists. At the time, it seemed like a good idea. Perhaps I should have paid more attention to my “off the boat logistics professor from Taiwan”, but it took more concentration for me to understand him than to understand the concepts (which were also 100% foreign). So back to the bucketlist…and how it pertains to the Mets.

I want to visit every baseball stadium in the country. It’s a large task, it will take time, and it will take money (both of which I have none). I have been to 6 stadiums – and I would argue that they are all pretty awesome. (Whether I am being biased towards baseball, I couldn’t tell you.) My rankings in order: Fenway Park (Boston Red Sox), Wrigley Field (Chicago Cubs), Citi Field (New York Mets), Jacobs Field/Progressive Field (Cleveland Indians), Comerica Park (Detroit Tigers), and Yankee Stadium (New York Yankees). I obviously am pulled slightly to the older stadiums perhaps because of the ambiance or simply because of the greenery. The Jake will always hold my whole heart, however, as the Cleveland Indians will forever be my favorite team in baseball.

Now that I am in the city, I am lucky that I have two of the best ballparks within a few miles. Yankee Stadium is in the Bronx and Citi Field is in Queens. To be perfectly honest with you, I am the furthest from a Yankees fan. I mean, furthest. I will not get into it here, but just know that I do not, nor will I ever, like the New York Yankees. But, I do love baseball so going to games in neutral colors is a must. (I even have to remember not to wear Buckeye gear because Nick Swisher is a Buckeye — such a difficult life I lead!) The Mets, on the other hand, are a team I could learn to love.

And I got to go to my first game of the season this past weekend. The Mets were playing San Francisco on Friday night — and what a beautiful night for baseball. I love everything about Citi Field. I love that the 7 train drops you off right out front. I love that the US Open courts are a few blocks away. I love (absolutely love) that LaGuardia Airport is so close you can see the planes taking off zooming from behind the scoreboard and passing overhead the entire game. I love the celebrities screaming LETS GO METS – Kevin James, in particular. I love the Wright and the Bay jersey’s. I love the bright orange. Yes, yes, the Mets are a team I can love. Because I love all the underdogs. The teams with “less money and more potential”. The Indians, and soon the Mets.

The game was a great one as well. I caught up with my friend from home, Leah, as we intently watched Jon Neise all 109 pitches. Angel Pagan (SF) hit a homerun in the third off his former teammate and pushed the Giants to a 3-0 lead in the third. Angel was one of the many Mets stars from last year that have moved on to other teams; Jose Reyes another. Luckily, new-comers like shortstop Ruben Tejada have stepped up to the plate (no pun intended) and by the 9th, the score was tied 3-3. Don’t you just love extra innings? It’s like getting more of what you love. Yes, it may be 11:00 pm and you are cold and tired, but it is always worth it. Even though the Mets lost by 1 run, it was worth it. Because baseball puts your mind at ease. They way the game is played is an instant relaxer – your whole body and mind can just sit and enjoy being engulfed by each pitch.

After the game, Josh and I went to eat at a diner in Long Island City with Leah and her fiance, Jon. Since it was almost midnight, not many kitchens in Manhattan were open and since Josh and Jon both had to work in the morning, we were not looking to have a crazy night. The diner suited us well – rustic interior and a very friendly staff. The food was what you would expect from a diner (my chicken sandwich and Jon’s Shephard’s Pie being awesome). Leah wasn’t thrilled with her lasagna but Jon boxed it up for later.

Overall, a relaxing and fun night. Good conversation, good friends, good game. Can not wait for the next one! (hint, hint: Yankees vs. Tigers on Sunday!) And Let’s Go Mets!

Oh, this “Citi”…Alex

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy Kish permalink
    May 23, 2012 4:33 pm

    I read your blog today because Whitney had a link to it on facebook. Some great stuff I couldn’t stop reading. But I truly relate because I to have the dream of visiting every ballpark and the Jake will hold my heart forever and Cleveland is my team from the crib (that was my dad) I will never like the Yankees but I do like the Mets. I recently visited most of the same places in New York on a visit to see my Newphew Nick who lives in Hoboken, New Jersey. I went with Dru and Monika and Cody. We had a great time. It was interesting to read about your experiences. On another side note, I do like Ohio State but Im partial towards the Bobcats, OU because thats where all my money goes. I also see your newphews often and I and Vernon just love them, they are so cute. Thought I would send you this note to say H! Amy Kish/ Dru and Codys Mom or you know Vernon.

    • Amy Kish permalink
      May 23, 2012 4:40 pm

      I read it back I meant nephews Ha Ha!

Trackbacks

  1. Departure of a Friend = Monkey Bread « the shellhammer

Leave a Reply

